Katy

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Estonia, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/08/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! I am currently studying a BSc in Conservation Biology & Ecology at the University in Exeter; I am lucky enough to be studying in beautiful Cornwall and spend most of my time outdoors. I am passionate about environmental education and sustainability and am looking for eco-friendly projects with sustainable outlooks to improve communities.

    In May I will be walking 300 miles along the East Coast of England with the charity Plover Rovers to engage coastal communities in the importance of conservation and ecology. I feel that too often scientists leave local citizens out of the picture when doing their research and in order to inspire the next generation of conservationists this needs to change.

    I am very active and especially love running. I also like to swim, hike, cycle, ski and surf when possible...canoeing - anything outdoors! I am outgoing and friendly so would love to work/travel with anyone who is equally active and happy to try new things, but most importantly I just want to have a laugh! In October I set myself the challenge of running and cycling 500km in 62 days for Alzheimer's Research UK which was fantastic and a good experience in online fundraising.

    In July 2019 I had the privilege of spending a week in Zimbabwe with my brother where we camped and volunteered at Imire rhino reserve. I returned in February and spent 6 weeks in Zambia and Zimbabwe; both were absolutely incredible experiences and I have to say Africa has stolen my heart.

    I took A levels in French, Biology and Chemistry and an AS level in Italian and am currently learning Estonian.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Performing arts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Past work away experiences have been working as a hostel receptionist in Brasov Romania; I really enjoyed this job in the beautiful Transylvanian town of Brasov as I met so many interesting people travelling and the business of being a receptionist never left me in a dull moment! I got to use my language skills and even picked up some Romanian. :)

    I also spent 3 weeks in Zambia staying with a wonderful family who ran a tourist lodge. I did a mixture of home schooling, DIY, gardening/landscaping and receptionist duties; it was an incredible experience and I am so grateful for these 3 weeks.

    I love working with children and have experience babysitting and looking after children whose native language is not English, teaching them English through play. I have a good level of Italian and French and a basic level of Spanish. I spent a month as an au pair for a lovely family in Bari, southern Italy.

    I volunteer at a care home in my village for elderly people with dementia as I enjoy caring for others, something that has given me important skills and experience in communicating with others and making their lives happier. I also volunteer once every two weeks at a local primary school teaching children French, so I have experience in teaching languages.

    I have been the editor for my village newsletter, so I have some skills in journalism/writing.
    I am able to cook and bake and I play the piano, double bass and bass guitar (the latter badly!)

    I have several part time jobs at home (including nannying, teaching piano & Italian and working in a cafe) and my parents run a holiday home business, so I have lots of experience in childcare/teaching and catering/hospitality environments.

    I also have a diploma in classical piano and enjoy composing, arranging songs and playing classical music in my free time. I have lots of experience playing in bands at school so would be very happy to run music classes.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Estonian: Beginner
    Shona: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    Big trips so far: I have been to the Himalayas on a hiking trip, canoeing in Sweden and volunteered for a week at an elephant & rhino sanctuary in Zimbabwe.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback