Victoria

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (4)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Currently in Cyprus, planning to fly to Moldova on the 1st of October!

    I have spent the last 2 years working as a mental health social worker in a hospital crisis team in east London, and I need a break! My work is important to me, so I try to take a 6-12 month break every few years, to avoid total burn-out.
    Longer-term, my dream is to one day have my own piece of land, where I can grow my own food, rescue animals and feral children, host other travellers...so I need to start moving in this direction, and learning from others who have already started living like this.
    For the last 6 years, I have volunteered weekly at a city farm in London, helping with animal care and food growing, so I'd love to learn more practical skills of this type. I spend my time thinking about permaculture, matriarchies, the effects of trauma on child brain development, how to fix our broken food system, trans-species psychology, animal-assisted therapy...
    I am a bit burnt out from my job, so I would like to spend some doing all the things that feed my soul :) Spending time in nature, working with animals, with good people, getting my hands dirty, learning new practical skills and new languages, so that one day, I can start up a project of my own...
    I will be keeping an eye out for affordable land while on my travels!
    Also very interested in increasing my knowledge of medical herbalism - unfortunately courses in the UK cost thousands of pounds, so I am hoping to just teach myself and learn by experience from others!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have taught English as a foreign language, and have taught French and Russian to English-speakers.
    I have volunteered at a city farm since 2014 (http://stepneycityfarm.org/) and have learnt a little about food growing and permaculture through this work. I also have my own allotment, which I have been growing food on throughout lockdown - kept me sane!
    I'm confident with animals and have learnt some animal care through my work at the farm (i.e. delousing chickens/reducing risk of flystrike in sheep etc.) as well as also through volunteering with animal shelters. I have fostered cats with a London cat charity for the last 6 years.
    I am a qualified mental health social worker, and have experience of working with children and adults in distress using a range of therapeutic models, such as Open Dialogue and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy.
    I know how to make felted finger puppets out of cat fur ;)
    And I actually enjoy cleaning! I'm a Virgo, so I enjoy making order out of chaos :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Would love to learn Romanian and Polish, and also to keep practising my Russian so that I don't lose it. I used to teach English and French as foreign languages to students in Russia, Ukraine and Kyrgyzstan.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    35

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am strong and happy to do dirty, tiring work!

    I would also be extremely grateful if hosts could reply to say that they are not able to host me. I only message one host at a time, and sometimes I wait days and days for a reply that does not come, which is time that I could have spent contacting someone else...thank you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do not eat processed foods, sugar, wheat, cow's milk and factory-farmed meat.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback