Rachel

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (5)

Top Workawayer
Email verified
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    France - from Apr 2024 until Jun 2024
    View all
  • Description

    I'm an open-minded idealist, helper, traveler, nature lover, hiker, yogic practitioner, gardener, creative, house sitter, animal lover, and intensely curious soul. Most people think I'm younger than I am because of my activity level, openness to learn, grow, and connect with people of various ages and backgrounds. I've also been told I'm easy to live with, tidy, responsible, patient, kind, quiet, and hold space for others. I do like to help people smile! :-)

    My background is a combination of professional and volunteer experience. Typically of significant responsibility which included many personalities and different cultural backgrounds. I’ve also owned and overseen the renovation of several properties that became residential or commercial rentals. I left my professional life in finance about 7+ years ago to travel and volunteer. My lifetime volunteer experience varies greatly. Ranging from farmhand, to hosting at an eco resort, time with street children, house sitting, pet sitting, assisting at a therapeutic horse riding facility, gardening, producing two TEDx events, rails-to-trails, and more. My Workaway service has included living in India for over a year. Also stays of a few weeks or months in Thailand, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, France and the United States. More recently spending over a year as the Landscape Lead at a combined intentional living community and yoga retreat center in California.

    I prefer to be active, outside, trying new things, learning and growing. I also enjoy house sitting and/or taking care of pets. I'm detailed, handy, eager to trade skills, and open minded. I like to think outside the box and problem solve. My goal is always, always, always to help people grow and do well for themselves.

    Feel free to send questions! Happy to explain anything.

  • Interests

    Events & social
    Plant care
    Music
    Drawing & painting
    Gardening
    Dancing
    Adventure sports
    Technology
    Pets
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Cycling
    Animals
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Mountain
    Self development
    Camping
    Languages

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Hindi: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Interested in learning Hindi, French, and Spanish. Happy to help you with English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    Hosting - Making guests feel warm and welcomed
    Organization - Including sorting, purging, down-sizing
    Gardening/landscape - very small or large areas (experienced with many types of power and hand tools, chainsaws, small and larger equipment, including operation of trucks, tractors, front-loader, and fire truck)
    House and pet sitting
    Yoga - as an assistant (YTT-500 certified, trained in India)
    Conversational English (CELTA certified)
    There are various other skills in addition to these that each host has been pleased to benefit from.

  • Age

    54

  • What else ...

    I enjoy yoga, meditation, philosophical discussion, psychology, slow hiking, holding space for others, connecting with the earth, and healthy living. I like to remain fit and active. Hiking, yoga, and gardening are my main forms of exercise. I do not smoke or do drugs. Also not a partier. However, gatherings with hosts, volunteers, or community members is always lovely.

    I find enjoyment from full cultural immersion, exploration, the arts, learning, meeting new people and finding common ground. Especially with those that have the capacity to share, laugh deeply, and find the good in others. Living a life that combines diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging for everyone is important to me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan/vegetarian - If this is a concern, I can make my own food :-) I'm used to it.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback