Help with home renovations, cleaning, decorating and community gardening projects in our upcoming Vegan homestead in Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 340 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are still accepting guests. If you are still traveling, we could use your help. If interested send us a note along with your EMAIL address to fill out our online application.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    NOTE: We looking for last-minute
    handyman volunteers.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Hello Friend!

    Please read our entire profile and follow instructions on what your first message should contain. It shows us that you read our profile, can follow instructions and it saves us time asking the normal questions then waiting for your response.
    :-) Thank you so much :-)

    ABOUT US:

    My name is Shakti. I have a modest home on about a half-acre of land in Georgia, just outside of the beautiful city of Atlanta, where I have indoor and outdoor projects that I could use your help with. From Carpentry/Framing to Gardening and General Home Maintainance, I've got plenty of fun for you!

    I consider myself a kind and gentle laid back person who likes helping others. I love to travel and meet new people. I'm a yoga teacher, nature lover, and vegan enthusiast. I'm passionate about the world's cultures and when I'm not traveling I enjoy cooking, gardening, and connecting with like-minded individuals.

    There is a main house but I also have a basement apartment, that could accommodate a small family of volunteers.

    What are we looking for?
    We have three categories you could volunteer in:
    A) Outdoor tasks - Gardening, composting, carpentry, cutting wood, building community
    gardens, help with tiny dome/home projects, and basic upkeep of the property.
    B) Indoor tasks - DIY building projects, Plastering/mortaring walls, general home maintenance,
    food prep, cleaning, organizing, recycling, downsizing, & basic home repairs. We live in a modest,
    rustic yet peaceful home, but it needs regular upkeep.
    C) Tasks best suited for your skillset and talents - Lend your talents to any one of our
    community projects. We host volunteer opportunities for the community garden, free
    yoga classes, and other workshops. Any help organizing this would be appreciated.


    IN YOUR FIRST MESSAGE TO US PLEASE:
    1) Send us your email address so that we can send you our online application.
    2) Pick an area you'd like to work in or learn A, B or C or a combination of them. The more the better.
    3) Lastly, please include the rough dates you would be interested in volunteering for.

    We plan to have around 4-5 hours of group help-time per day, and free time the rest of the time. Our area has many hikes, parks a beach, and great food! Very open-minded fun-loving people. Meet us if you can. We might not get to hang with you most of the time as we run several home-based businesses but we are happy to show you around our beautiful city when we can.

    If you are interested in joining us for a week or more, please reach out to us. We look forward to growing and learning with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your off time, take a short drive to explore downtown Decatur or Atlanta's shops, restaurants and Universities; Morehouse, Spellman and Clark Atlanta University as well as Georgia Tech and Georgia state to name a few. Or visit the beautiful museums and sample the delicious restaurants which also hosts a farmers market every Sunday. We are perfectly positioned for public transportation. We are 5 minutes from organic grocery stores and juice bars, Stone Mountain for hiking, and many parks and museums for exploring. I look forward to sharing and learning from one another.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Needing some extra hands to help with Gardening, General household maintenance and perhaps dow the road, tiny house projects in Atlanta, Georgia. We are open to having children and other families. We are open to host guests from all over the world who want to come to learn how to grow, cook and eat delicious, Plant-Based food.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The lodging we provide is in our garden apartment. It has its own entry door separate from the main house. Accommodations are quite rustic but the space comes with Its own private bath, mini-fridge, microwave and two comfortable futon beds. If there are more than two guests we can add an air mattress if needed. The space has not been used for a while, so it needs a little bit of cleaning to make it comfortable again. I think in one day it should be done.

    We eat very healthy vegetarian-friendly meals and will offer 2-meals daily or provide ingredients to cook. If you require more than that there are many many great restaurants nearby.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Approx. 10 min from Stone Mountain Park where there is hiking, camping, historical sightseeing, laser and firework show. Approx 20 min from Downtown Atlanta with many activities and events.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have two huge paved driveways that span 1/2 city block sitting on a half-acre of land. I PREFER volunteers who have their own mobile dwellings. You will still have access to full basement with full bath and wifi in addition to healthy and delicious vegan meals of course.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love animals, as long as they are friendly. BRING THEM!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 316686667919