Stephen214

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi Everyone! I am a navy veteran (Corpsman) from Texas, USA.
    I want to see more of this world, meet different people and try new things - what better way to do this then to work/help people in the process.

    I would love to develop more customer service skills, learn more about sustainable living, improve my Spanish and get some more hands on experience here in Central and South America.

    My current focus is to see as much of Central and South America as I can, with no specific time frame or set path.

    So if my profile looks good to you, and you are anywhere in Central or South America; please send me a message, I would love to hear from you and come volunteer.

    I'm also fully Vaccinated.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    DIY & crafts
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    In El Salvador, I assisted a woman clearing up some land on her property and building a fence.

    I worked at a hostel in Roatan, Honduras. My duties there were: Reception, maintaining a record of check ins and outs, keeping accounting of cash on hand, deep cleaning the rooms after check out and inspecting the rooms before check in, maintaining the pool and keeping the common spaces and hostel grounds clean.

    During covid I was stuck in Afghanistan doing work, so therefore I was not able to travel and volunteer during this time.

    Before covid I participated in other workaway programs, such as:

    In Coban, Guatemala I lived with and assisted a family with their small farming project and some garden maintenance.

    In Livingston, Guatemala I worked at a hostel, checking guests in and out, tending the bar and entertaining tourists.

    In Utila, Honduras I housesat an eco-house (solar power, rainwater collection and composting toilet) in the jungle for 3 weeks by myself, taking care of her 2 dogs, 2 cats and the garden while the she was away. This workaway host personally recommended me for the hostel in Roatan, Honduras.

    At home in Texas, I have hands on experience with goats and horses owned by family members. I also have volunteered with Habitat for Humanity many times and have an understanding of basic construction.

    In the military I was a corpsman which is similar to a medical assistant, so I have knowledge of first aide and was a Basic Life Support Instructor.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm currently learning Spanish, and I would love to teach English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I am currently in Costa Rica Volunteering at Casa Aldea as a receptionist, running errands, and handy man.
    I'm also looking for a new host.

    Anything else you need to know, just ask, or say hi. I will answer any and all questions. I just don't want my profile to be too long winded.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback