Denis & Glenys

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/06/2018 - 30/12/2018

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I [Denis] was born / grew up on a sheep /cattle station. Have had to learn to repair / maintain most machinery, as well as grow food, and butcher as required. I have worked as a mechanic as well as auto electrician in Australia as well as U.K.. Needless to say I am familiar with arc and oxy / acetylene welding equipment. I was an ambulance officer for 10 years.
    I have travelled extensively in Australia, as well as overland to Europe, and across North Africa.
    I am licensed to drive all vehicles including Buses, Coaches and Road Trains, as well as being endorsed for public transport. I also hold Plant operator tickets. I have been involved with Emergency Services for over 25 years. and am still a volunteer Firefighter.
    I currently work as a contract /as required Tour Guide for several companies, regularly taking larger groups for Cruise Ships, as well as smaller groups in Kakadu. Litchfield N.P. and the Kimberley. I still have cattle on a small farm.
    I [Glenys] will be a 62 year old woman when we reach foreign shores. I have experienced property / station life as well as farm and town life so caring for chooks, lambs and poddy calves is familiar.
    Having raised four children and worked in Education, I am at ease among children and elderly people.
    My interests are gardening and reading, so I am very willing to help with gardening and cleaning tasks.
    My only and native language is English, but I am keen to learn another language.
    Hi... We are home in Australia.. and my apologies for not updating sooner..
    Our awesome 5 month adventure in Europe is over for now... I could fill pages with lovely stories.. briefly, we had a total of four workaway hosts.. we would say that “it cannot possibly get better”.. but it always did..Like I said.. I could fill pages..
    Will we do it again???? Every chance we will... but not this year..
    It is of no use when you are living in the ‘departure lounge’ (nursing home) saying what you could have and should have must do it while you can.. If you do not, and ‘miss the bus’... that bus will never return... and ‘never’ is a long time..
    So yes.. we do look forward to more workaway.. we could be tempted into becoming ‘permanent’ workawayers.. it was that good...

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Auto electrical,
    Farming and grazing
    First Aid,
    Plant operating
    Tour Guide / operator,
    Language practice

  • Languages spoken

    English, learning German.

  • Age

    75 & 66

  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    Photos at last uploaded. Took awhile. Computer having a 'bad hair' days.. But the good news is that bit is done.
    We hope to be able to help our hosts any way we can, share our Australian culture, and I wish to become more fluent in the German language.. Being from the 'bush' means that we are versatile and resourceful.. You have to be to survive. We are definite non smokers..
    We spent 3 months in Europe in 2015, and were 'workawayers' in four different locations, one in Nederland, and three in Deutshland.. It was an awesome experience, the welcome and hospitality was amazing, and we are now looking forward to doing it it again, in 2018.
    We do need to stay longer in each location, and my German still needs much improvement..
    Bis bald,
    P.S. We are now moving...(9.11.18) now in Northern Norway.. above the ‘Arctic Circle’.. saw the northern lights last night... was on my ‘bucket list’.. WOW.. We intend to return via the Baltic States.. and be back in Germany in about four weeks..

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Only Telstra...

    • Special dietary requirements