Kelly

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Portugal ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/11/2018 - 30/11/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a single mature woman with the spirit of a child who has lived in or traveled in over 50 countries, and alone.
    I grew up on a farm raising goats, sheep, horses, cows, chickens, geese, ducks, rabbits. I milked the goats twice a day for many years. We also collected wood, cut, split, stacked for burning in our kitchen wood stove and regular heating stoves.
    I live a similar lifestyle but even more rugged in Ladakh, the Himalayas of Northern India, where I now call home. I break ice in the winter and haul water by hand up the hills to my house, hand wash clothes, bucket showers, grow my own vegetables and dry them for the winter, collect my own vegetable and flower seeds for the next year, make my own hand lotion ... whatever whatever needs doing I figure out how to do it with very limited resources.i can do carpentry, building or repairing rock terraces or walkways, painting, all kinds of restoration work on buildings, a fast learner, very conscientious of caring for tools and organisation of things. I believe in doing a job right the first time and am not afraid to ask questions if something is not clear. I have learned to be extremely creative and resourceful with what is locally available.

    I live alone in a little passive solar house built two years again in a small village in Ladakh, the Himalayas of northern India. All gardening, making compost and soil, maintaining a rammed earth house, hauling water, everything is done with interest and care.

    I am a certified teacher with over a decade of international teaching experience. Presently, I live and work in Ladakh, a Tibetan Buddhist region of northern India high in the Himalayas. I have sold my home in the US and everything I own so that I can continue living in Ladakh and volunteering. It has been 5 years since I started volunteering there and I am now focusing more on training teachers but still providing support to the schools. I teach young Buddhist monks and nuns and started a non-profit www.volunteerladakh.org
    Winters are frigid and schools close (as we have little resources for heat), allowing me to head to warmer ground. I love my life. I am incredibly grateful for all that I experience. But I also love having a break in the winter is where I can have a chair to sit in and maybe a showe, the real luxurious of life. I have much to offer and much to learn and particularly interested in meeting like minded folks who seek to live a sustainable life and share the commonalities of goodness, love, respect, easy going and happy and content wherever or whenever.
    I take responsibility seriously, am a good communicater, flexible, resourceful, sensitive to others needs, observant, engaged, have great relationships with animals and people of all kinds, enjoy laughing, creating, sharing, connecting, and being happy and content where I am.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    construction
    interior design
    resourceful
    artistic
    gardening
    teaching
    carpentry
    milking goats
    writing
    resourceful and rustic
    drive 35 ton Dump Truck, vus, motorcycle, horse and buggy
    computers
    care for animals
    can do and/or learn most anything
    website development

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    56

  • Nationality

    Born in the USA, but Ladakhi at heart.

  • What else ...

    I am easy going, very resourceful and creative, a problem Salvo, hard working I believe and doing the job right the first time. Very flexible happy

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      poison ivy

    • Special dietary requirements
      Prefer vegetarian but am totally flexible

Photos

Feedback