Join our family on our grass based dairy farm nr Salmon Arm, a beautiful town with a lake, BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 59 times
  • Last activity: 13 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are a young Christian family with five kids, looking for help on our grass fed only dairy farm. We live 10 minutes from Salmon Arm, a beautiful town with a lake and lots of outdoor activities. We grow a big garden and try to put up most of our own food for the year. We raise pigs, turkeys, chickens and sheep as side ventures, as milking 60 mixed breed dairy cows is our main venture. We butcher all our own meat and raise all our animals on organic principles. We live in a large farmhouse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here we are always learning and trying to become more self-sufficient. we are not your typical dairy farm, as we process all our own milk and sell directly to the consumer. We strive for high quality products not high quantity.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a wide range of farm and household duties depending of interest and skill level. Depending on the time of year we have moving irrigation pipes out in the fields, rotating animals through different pastures, helping with tractor work, yard maintenance, seeding weeding and harvesting garden produce, building repairs and farm equipment maintenance. Daily chores are milking the cows and feeding new born calves bottles, feeding chickens and collecting eggs, feeding pigs, sheep, turkeys.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We live in a large farmhouse with an extra bedroom down stairs. we eat as a family as much as possible and are simple eaters (meat and potatoes kind of family) The house overlooks the farm

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We require a good work ethic and sense of humor. We are willing to train if you have no experience as long as you are willing to try. We would prefer at least a month commitment but are flexible. We also have kids and ask that guests don't smoke or drink while staying in our home (although drinking water is acceptable). We have lakes and mountains nearby which provide lots of activities. We have limited internet but lots of fresh air.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week

Host ref number: 118836173134

Feedback (5)