Martin

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 01/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Martin and I come from Bohemia, from a place that is also referred to as a gateway to Eagle Mountains. I have been travelling the globe for the past 4 years. Being a workawayer or simply a volunteer has become my lifestyle. I believe that the world built on trust, sharing, friendship, love and kindness would be a much better place.

    A few words about some habits of mine... I practice meditation. Every day. I also follow vegetarian diet and wouldn't cook or kill an animal. I neither drink alcohol nor smoke. That's it :-)

    People often say that I'm a friendly and nice person. I love animals, nature and know very well how to enjoy myself. At the moment, I'm learning about organic gardening, cooking, meditation, music, English and Spanish language.

    I offer two working options to all hosts:

    A) I can work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week in exchange for 7 days of accommodation and food. (25 hours a week in total)

    B) I can work 8 hours a day, 5 days a week in exchange for 7 days of accommodation and food + money donation for the extra "overtime" hours. (40 hours a week in total; but you need to provide compensation for those 15 extra hours)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening

    I really enjoy working in a garden, especially those organic veggie ones. I'm enthusiastic about growing food and have been persistantly learning about organic farming and permaculture.

    Construction

    I'm confident in woodwork (I have built sheds, fences, frames, tables ect.). Also plastering, painting, bricklaying, window fitting, concreting ect. is no problem for me. Common sense and outstanding handy-man skill help me to tackle almost any task in a succesful way. I'm eager to help with natural building projects; those that involve carpentry, rammed earth, clay/lime plasters, stone, straw-bale, cob, hemp etc.

    Cooking

    Cooking is another hobby of mine. I love baking bread and cakes as well as preparing salads, soups and vegetarian dishes. I've got a lot of experience from big commercial kitchens; cooking for up to 250 guests at once.

    Music, psychology, language

    I'm a passionate musician and would be more than happy to join a jam or show you a few tricks from my repertoire. I can play tha saxophone, clarinet, guitar, didgeridoo, percussions and sing. Further I'd be delighted to share my knowledge from my meditation practice, provide psychological support or just talk about life from a meditator's point of view. For those who need it, I can offer English language tutoring or even Czech if you feel adventurous enough :-)

    Driving and machinery

    Yes, I can drive a car very well, both on the left and the right side, with or without a trailer, forward or backwards. I can also operate a tractor, forklift, loader and digger. I am confident in using powertools, chainsaws, strimmers, mowers, timber mill etc.

    Maintenance

    I can succesfully run a property maintaining everything in working order. Blocked drains, squeaky doors, dripping taps etc. I can fix it all. If you need some firewood, paint the fence or just mow the lawn, I'm your man.

    Animal care

    I'm a big big animal lover! I love all of them! Horses, sheep, cows, pigs, goats, dogs, ducks... I'm very confident around animals and can handle them very well. Can't ride a horse though...

    Hospitality

    Having suffered more than 4 years of experience in hospitality, I feel confident to help you out as a waiter, barista, hotel receptionist, cook or kitchen assistent. I used to be a bartending legend before I gave up drinking alcohol hehe; shaking cocktails for celebrities like Prince, Sting or Jeremy Clarkson. I am professionaly trained and have high standard of quality service. But please don't ask me to work behind the bar, I don't do it anymore. Cafés, bakeries, restaurants or hotels are ok though :-)

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Czech, Slovak

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Czech Republic

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback