From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/02/2021 - 05/04/2022

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi I'm mark I started my working life as a diesel mechanic, then moved into farming with some arable but manly dairy. After 10 years as a herdsman I took on my parents small holding where I've farmed sheep goats pigs turkeys cows etc for the last 21 year.
    During this time I've been self employed working for local people doing all sorts of work like building a garage, flagging, roof repairs,cutting gardens,looking after church grounds, painting ect. 5 years ago I started 3 days a week as an engineer where I work with hydraulics.
    I have also fully renovated the farm i live in pluse a holiday home in the lake district.
    I have 3 great kids that are grown up now and have there own lives,, I've lived alone now for two and half years and six months ago sold my animals to give me more freedom, which I've really enjoyed visiting a few different places abroad, I found I enjoyed meeting local people and learning about different ways of life more than doing the tourist thing.
    I'm happy to work hard in most conditions (spent 12 months in Australia fruit picking in the early days).I'm easy going and looking forward to meeting new people and learning how things are done in different countries

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

  • More details about your skills

    Diesel mechanic (old engines),most livestock and farming work, building work,landwork, working with public (worked on boat hire fleet),
    Can turn my hand to most things,and willing and hoping to learn new things from my host

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I'm honest, hard working,trustworthy and keep my home clean and tidy and would teat someone else's the same. I'm happy to do most things to help and often help elderly people to jobs that they Carnt do (change light bulb,move a sofa, etc)
    I'm well know in the area I live and people say I'm easy going and allways get the job done and if I Carnt I will know someone that can.
    My main hobby is my motorcycle in the summer time.
    Looking forward to meeting you
    Thanks mark

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements