Charlie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Hello, Gruetzi and Bonjour,

    It's me Charlie .. I'm a happy person, very caring and thoughtful. I'd say some of the words that best describe the surface of me would be: personable, fun loving, energetic and curious. I like to keep active with things like socialising, swimming, basketball and climbing mountains where I can and as well I like to cook and try new things.

    **My family are currently renovating the house and as I'm not usually here they want to use my small room as storage so couple that with my pull towards getting out there this seems like a win-win, although it is quite short notice so ill be happy to get on the road again straight away!**

    Over the course of the past year I've traveled to the French alps, central France (both through workaway) then went on a French road trip with somebody I met in France, ended up in Switzerland where I was able to see Zurich, met some really warm people and flew a plane haha. I went traveling again in the middle of the coronavirus lockdown to explore the swiss alps for a week then move onto a swiss road trip for another week before flying to Budapest, Hungary where I fell in love with the city and hope to go back to experience the nightlife, it was here, well a short drive away to lake Balaton where I had somewhere close to the best two days of my life. After that I came home and decided to do the Pennie way, a British national trail which I completed in 17 days having fallen in a bog up to my chest, been scared for my life on top of peaks with no visibility or path to follow in awesome wind speeds and rain and learned to appreciate the little things in life like never before. I love it.

    The reason I joined workaway is that over the course of the next few years I really want to kickstart my travels and for me, I think the best way is to live with locals and even help out with the work because I can't imagine any other way to really get a feel for the city, culture, cuisine and language. I also think it's a great way to meet people from all over the world and share time with people who think differently and possibly add to my character. This is a big part of the idea for me.

    I'm learning to play the guitar, I hope that continues to go well! I would like to learn the piano too I just struggle to find a house with one in haha. I've spent 3 years working in restaurants while at university and I've really loved picking up little bits of languages and the work ethic, I have to say id love to develop a little bit of the native language wherever I go and use it where I can.

    At university, I studied Human Biology, a subject I love and am very interested in, although I'm now working in the British film industry, a 'filler' job I hope.

    Since a kid I've been moving around my country city to city because of my families work. Even now as ive grown older I still travel all across the country to see friends and new places so I'm very accustomed to life on the road, even my job keeps me on it. I would love to learn to sail one day then become accustomed to the sea as well.

    I promise I'm a real human being haha, with strengths and weaknesses and I hope traveling will strengthen my personality if you have any questions, please contact me and I look forward to hearing from you!

    Thank you very much,

    Charlie ☮︎

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I can clean to a restaurant standard, I've worked as a waiter, barman, kitchen porter and chef. I have a good grasp of general biology and English literature. I can cook, plan meals, care for children, animals and plants. I really like being around children I like to think I can get along with them well :). While at college I helped coach a children's basketball team for a year too which I loved of course.

    I am limited to being fluent in only English though know very basic French and Swiss German. I'm responsible, confident in most sports if that helps, I know how to do basic DIY jobs and I feel I'm friendly enough to have a conversation with anyone. I am very happy to do most things, even if I don't know and you're willing to spend some time teaching ill be there.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I really like board games, sport, nature, animals, laughing, beer and wine very much, meeting interesting people and trying new foods. I am pescatarian, meaning i will eat seafood and vegetables and everything else, just not meat. However i have no problem buying, preparing and cooking meat. I love music so if there's some kind of local music club i would love to check it out, even the cool Jazz clubs that I cant seem to find anywhere!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian/ Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback