Carola

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/07/2020 - 31/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey :)

    I am a nature-loving biologist/botanist from Germany. I studied ecology and biodiversity and now work as a freelancer in my hometown.
    Back in Germany, I live in a wagon village with a bunch of amazing people. We all share the same values of a simple and sustainable life-style so we do e.g. a lot of upcycling, food-sharing and we only use solar- and windpower and wood fired heating.
    I am an easy going, hardworking and open-minded girl. I do enjoy working together in a team but also like taking responsibility while working on my own.
    I am always eager (and patient) to obtain new skills, enjoy performing various tasks and above all, I want to help you in any way possible!

    This year I cut back my job to focus on learning and enhancing my skills in gardening and construction. I am especially interested in the principals of permaculture! I already gained some basic practical experiences at my last two projects in Tasmania and on Tenerife and by reading a lot.
    My personal project is to create a garden which is close to nature, rich in biodiversity and which will provide me with most food I need.
    I am on fire to gain more knowledge and practical experience while working at projects which are related to my dream. Please don`t worry, I am definitely not looking for a free permaculture course and I do not want to slow work by asking too many questions! I also cherish non-gardening related tasks and daily chores and I am very happy to work hard and get sweaty!

    I hope to find a place with warmhearted and open-minded people, where sharing knowledge and open communication is valued. For me, traveling is about meeting people, sharing beautiful moments and growing with experience and inspiration.


    My working experience abroad:

    Last winter I spent almost four weeks at the most beautiful place in Tasmania. I was part of a team helping two amazing people to build an Earthship. They taught us e.g. to build walls with cob, recycled materials and clay render, build a shower out of cement and self-made glass-bricks, build a cement wall, cob benches, door frames, dressing trees, being creative, etc. etc. etc. We also helped taking care of the biodynamic garden which had some permaculture features.

    I was working for the Batoro-Project (check it out!) on Tenerife for seven weeks being head of the gardenteam. We worked in our kitchen garden providing our own veggies and did the first steps in the soon to be permaculture garden e.g. building a hugelkultur. Also we learned how to build bamboo-yurtas!

    In 2016, I was working for three months as a workawayer with sleddogs in remote northern Norway. It was the most amazing experience to me! I was living in a tiny cabin in the mountains, I was responsible for up to 60 dogs of which I took care and as winter came I helped training them for the tourist season.

    So far, I have worked a lot as a wwoofer on farms in Ireland. My tasks ranged from working on fields, taking care of animals to working on markets. I also worked in a B&B where I cleaned the rooms and welcomed the guests.

    Furthermore, I participated in two international workcamps in France and Switzerland. We worked in a team of 10-15 people on environmental projects in the alps while leading a very simple life without electricity in the middle of nowhere.

    I once helped a friend who owns a forest in the Carpathian Mountains in Romania. This work included lumbering as well as renovation work and I learned a lot about sustainable forestry.

    Apart from my experience in outdoor work I volunteered in several social and cultural projects at my university e.g. organizing concerts, cultural evenings and working in a small café.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Due to my experience from e.g. projects and farm stays (listed above) I have different practical skills especially in gardening and other outdoor tasks and I am pretty good at organizing.
    If you are interested in plants or ecology, you are always welcome to join me on some botanical hikes ;)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no! I prefer vegeterian food but I am happy with any food provided

Photos

Feedback