Rebecca

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/02/2015 - 20/08/2017

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm a Welsh lady who is a mature Community Development Worker in the 5 th year of travel adventures. Mainly working as a Travel Cook and Gardener now, I also try and learn as much as I can about cooking, horticulture and permaculture as I travel though different climates. Europe, Australia, New Zealand, S.Pacific ,Fiji , Tonga and Indonesia. I'm no expert but will give it my all and work together with you to find the right approach.
    Thoroughly enjoying the journey and discovering new and wonderful places and people to spend time, share and learn new skills. Particularly cooking and kitchen gardening, working with animals , children and the elderly. I 've done a heap of stuff from painting a large property in Perth to helping grow saffron in Melbourne and making coconut oil in Tonga.


    Next year I would like to return home and work on my own stone dwelling restoration, I've plenty of time to take up a suitable opportunity. Very fit, healthy and happy to help you on your home or business projects!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Horticulture

    I can help build fruit, veg and herb gardens. I can also help design and build Kitchen Gardens for your restaurant / guest house. Tropical and Temperate.

    In conjunction with being a self taught gardener I enjoyed 4 years as a Horticultural Assistant for Pant Glas and Dyffrin Nurseries in Wales, specializing in growing bedding plants and architectural screening plants. Propagating and potting up seedlings, plant care, tunnel maintenance and watering systems, espalier work on screening trees, planting native tree hedgerows, commemorative tree planting for community groups, customer service and sales both in and out of the Nurseries.

    I ve a Certificate in Practical Horticulture with the RBGE , Royal Botanics Edinburgh ( Merit)

    For inspiration , recently, I've visited Lismore Castle and Ballymalou House kitchen gardens and restaurant, Ireland . Also Botanical Gardens in the U.K and overseas. Interested in Healing, Therapeutic Gardens and Sensory Spaces.

    Overseas work:-


    Horticulture

    Bush regeneration for AUSTROP Foundation , Daintree Rainforest AU. Re-vegetating large sections of rain forest with native species like Black Palm and Mahogany. Some invasive weed control work.

    Kitchen Gardener Mt Talau House , Tonga, Waruka Bay Eco Resort, Fiji and Adventure Waikato, New Zealand.
    Gardener for Kuala Sanctuary Bungalow Bay Magnetic Island Australia.
    Gardener for contractors in Sydney and Perth.
    Volunteer Gardener for Min of Agriculture Kingdom of Tonga.

    Agriculture/ farming

    Saffron Crop Production, Saffron Hills Melbourne Australia.
    Cattle farm worker Red Hill Melbourne- some feeding out work using the tractor , helping with laying electric fencing, calf handling at Redhill Agricultural show.
    Bass Landcare Trust Re-vegetation Program Melbourne - Native tree planting ( 2,500 trees)
    Leaping Goat Olives - olive pruning.


    Community Development

    Grass roots initiatives- Charity and Voluntary Sector. Project Development, in particular youth fora and children's Play Development, Environment and Social Enterprise through local produce markets.

    Cooking/Hospitality

    Skills Coach for Jamie Oliver's Home Cooking Skills Program Wales. Children aged 9-14yrs
    Cook for Shearing gangs on weekend 'stay aways' with Clayton Greene and Welsh Shearers, New Zealand.
    Cook and Kitchen Gardener and House Keeper for Adventure Waikato Corporate Training Groups. NZ.
    Cook and counter service at Longbay Beach Hut, Auckland .
    Cook, Kitchen Gardener and House Keeping at Mount Talau House , Vava'u Tonga. ( for professional underwater photography clients working with Darren Jew)
    Foraging and cooking wild foods with Fijian Islanders at Waruka Bay Resort , Qamea Island, Fiji.
    I participated in the Vava'u Royal Agricultural Show Cooking Competition 2015 which was the first of its kind on the islands aimed to promote food sovereinity and contemporary Tongan cooking with Island produce. It was recognised by the King and Queen of Tonga and I was awarded 3rd Prize and received my certificate from the King.


    Baby Sitting and Child Care.

    Children's Play Scheme Worker and Leader for CCS Children's Play Team Swansea U.K.
    Roving Activity Team Leader for 'Interplay' working with specific needs for children.
    Swansea City Farm Child and Youth Project Worker. Cooking with children and running residential wk ends.
    Qualified in Play Work with City and County of Swansea Children's Play Team.
    Registered Responsible Adult and Organiser for Graigfelen Play Scheme as set by my Community Development objectives. Live in nanny for Australian family with 2 boys, Port Douglas, Australia.
    Child care for 2 girls Waruka Bay Resort Fiji. Babysitter for friends in Perth.

    Crafts

    I studied French, Textiles and Art at College and have a Foundation year in Craft. Areas of study - Batik, Ceramics, Metal Work, Life drawing and Weaving. Grennan Mill Craft School Kilkenny , S Ireland.

    Help in the house.

    I have lived with two elderly people in Sydney for 3 mnths helping them to run their home, drive and cook for them.
    Live in Child carer as mentioned above with help in the home and garden.
    House sitter for 2 properties in Australia. Perth, Sydney.


    Animal Care

    I worked for 4 months at The Sylva Project, a rare breed DNA conservation program for the Skyrian Horse in the Greek Islands. Lead roping for children and assisting the Therapeutic Riding Trainer in her activities.
    House and horse sitter (retired race horse), Yallingupp , Perth. Some exercising.

    Language Practice.

    I have completed the CELTA Course for teaching English as a foreign language. However this was a number of years ago so it would be great to help people learn English through cooking and gardening, sightseeing or other activities.

    Building.

    Painter- Worked on a large property in Perth. Would love to learn traditional building skills and restoration. I' ve a dream project back in the U.K that could benefit from some lime mortar restoration knowledge.

    Plastering- Worked for 3 weeks with a Master Decorator in Palma De Mallorca. Learnt how to prep , mix, apply and finish.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Basic French and Spanish

  • Age

    45

  • Nationality

    Welsh United Kingom

  • What else ...

    I'm calm and motivated, having spent 10yrs years as a Community Development Worker in Wales I feel I have many transferable skills that would be useful across a number of projects.

    Love the outdoors, travel, arts , culture,music, cooking, fishing, horse riding. Advanced dive cert up to 30 dives incl. wreck dives - SS MacWilliam Tonga, SS.Yongala QLD, GBR Australia, Liberty Wreck Amed, Bali, Komodo National Park and Labuanbajo, Flores.

    Yachting Experience .
    Crew and cook -Freemantle to Carnarvon WA
    Crew and Cook - Tonga to Fiji S. Pacific.
    Yacht Salvage , Cyclone Winston , Savu Savu Marina , Fijian Islands. 2016

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Feedback