Home help and learn about a holistic approach to health and living, organic gardening and alternative therapies in Scariff, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 200 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    638

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need help right now please, in house and garden. Penelope is an alternative therapist - Alexander technique teacher plus, currently teaching courses online, & Julian is a photographer. We are doing a video series to accompany Penelope's recent book, and we need help in the house and garden to give us more time to film / work, and have some much needed down time that is not housework! We enjoy good wholesome vegan food, and have lots of cook books. We have wide ranging interests. We like music, classical, jazz, blues, folk. Penelope does yoga and dance, we enjoy walking in the landscape and exploring the wild places. We are a quiet, meditative household, but enjoy talking, laughing and eating together. We have a 1.5 acre site with panoramic views overlooking Loch Derg and Holy Island. We grow vegetables, some fruit, and have an apple orchard. We have a small Jack Russell dog and a cat, so animal lovers needed! We have a polytunnel, wild & native flower banks and paths.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested, you can learn a lot here about good nutrition, and a holistic approach to health and living. About organic gardening, plants, ecology and organic balance. About alternative therapies, psychology, active meditation and Alexander technique, which is about how we use our bodies in daily life - everyone who stays here can learn good physical balance for daily tasks and gardening to protect their backs and joints. We have a piano and a guitar which are available for use. The house is full of books on many subjects. We speak good English and can help you improve, though a good basic level is needed. Our site suits quiet contemplative types, at home alone in nature. So walkers, writers, yogis, meditators... all have loved it here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help for at least a month, and longer if we are all comfortable together, to take some household tasks off our shoulders. We need someone who is mature, (probably 23 plus), careful, quiet, meditative, and who knows how to run a household. Someone who can cook wholefood vegan meals preferred. We have lots of cookery books. You will be on your own much of the time, and need to be comfortable with that, though we will help out with you at times. All necessary guidance is given, and we get together at meals, or walk together. We need help with cooking, laundry, cleaning, weeding the vegetable beds, flower beds and sometimes also the wildflower banks, watering the polytunnel, and harvesting of garden produce.
    We have bicycles available to use so volunteers can explore the area in the evenings and on days off.
    The ordinary day starts with a dog walk, which volunteers can join or not, and then you will be making breakfast, clearing the kitchen, then feeding the birds and watering the plants as needed. The morning then is usually gardening tasks, which are planned together each day. You will then prepare lunch, usually from the garden, and clear the kitchen again after. More gardening in the afternoon until 4pm. Help clearing the kitchen after the evening meal is always appreciated. You can choose which 2 days of the week you take off each week. We also need help cleaning the house one day a week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in the house with en suite toilet and basin. There is a shared bathroom with shower - but since we have our own bathroom you will mostly be the only one using this bathroom also. There is good wifi everywhere in the house. Food is prepared in the kitchen and we eat together in the dining room. There are yoga mats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are good walks to take from the house, or with short car journeys.
    We are a mile from our village, 3 miles from the nearest shops, and there is no public transport, but a splendid roadside path which goes miles, and makes a good running track! There are good local walks by the lake, in ancient forests or up the hills. In the villages there are Irish music sessions (though they are always very late!), yoga and dance classes and other activities that can be joined.

    As said above, there is NO public transport across a lot of Ireland, especially in this area and it can be quite remote, it's perfect for someone looking for an escape from city life, but if you're looking for a vibrant social scene this won't be for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Until 4pm (max 5 hours) each day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 999858812765