Vegetable garden design and cheese-making in Magliano Sabina, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Together with Gabriele we are a couple in our middle thirties. We live in a countryside house with olive and fruit trees in central Italy, where we do have a little vineyard and a little farm. We felt into this lifestyle and we loved it, after years of living in cities for studying and work. Here for just the pleasure of doing it, we ran experiments with fermentations, wine, cheese and bread making, finding this lifestyle precious and inspiring for being in touch with happiness. Most of all in fact, we love to experience the happiness of simple living in general.

    We do not keep this lifestyles as a business, we don't sell what we produce, we keep our "normal" jobs but we do it just because of its beauty. We share our space with 2dogs, chickens and some geese. We have long experience in sharing our spaces, finding the exchange of emotions and eyes on life, nourishing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We decided to join workway because we want to share our lifestyle as something easy to do and beneficial for people happiness. We have PhDs in Computer Science and we do love to entertain long conversations around the meal table. We are a deeply routed italian family and least, you would go back home with pizza making skills. The most of our experience we share, is the beauty of a simple life style, harmonised with a normal life carrier.

    We have experience in wine making, food processing and we do love to share these expertise. We are part of the local community that is warm and welcoming. Central Italy has an ideal climate, and still is part of the wildness that allow us to swim in rivers or trek. Valentina is use to meditate and Gabri is a chess player.

  • Help

    Help

    We are implementing a new vegetable garden with low watering need and a sustainable poultry farming. The help would be in thinking together about the project needs and the project implementation by itself.
    Beekeeping basics would be present in the meanwhile, together with our routinely duties for the green part of the house to be trade on.
    Our ideal workawayer is a critical thinker with analytical skills and the joy to work in the open air. Experimental and creative attitude are requested. Basic of permaculture would be a plus.
    In our plans there is also to dedicate a space to cheese preparation and to make a part of the house available for this.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest would have its own bedroom and bathroom in the commune house. If more than one they would have to share it but we can discuss about this detail. The volunteer room has a window on the valley, a wardrobe and a desk. We tend to use the communal part of the house sharing it. We do have some internet connection available but we use it wisely and for working duties only for keeping life simple and at slow pace. We have heat and electricity. The food we would share would come mainly from our garden and from common preparation: I do LOVE to prepare meals and to share food all around the globe. We tend to keep a vegetarian diet but we will be happy to listen to what's your favourite meal for the day and try to accomodate it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 1h of direct train far from Rome, and having a day or night out there is an easy task. We have the nearby to be explored by feet with trekking surrounded by mountains and medieval villages. We are also directly connected to Fiumicino Airport.

    The experience with us would be a slow living one, in connection with the earth and with our roots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We work from home as computer scientist, so we do have a shared internet connection that we use for working, extra displays and good arguments about State of the art technologies

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3/4 hours a day, 5 days/week but this really depends on the season and the weather - we can be flexible about this

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 995837339939