Stay on our organic farm in the forest in South Australia




Favourited 481 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are Chris and Britt!! We have a beautiful little farm surrounded by native forest and apple and cherry orchards. Yum! We live here with two geese, a pet python and a couple of nice house spiders. We like reading, can make reasonable coffee and try to eat only food we harvest.

    Latest update - looking for builder/carpenter/handyperson to help build a hothouse, stone walls or landscaping!

    Chris has spent most of his life working in conservation biology and has traveled to many countries, including two years in Wadi Rum in Jordan working on the reintroduction of Arabian Oryx. We just came back from three weeks island hopping in Nusa Tengarra in Indonesia, and can proudly say we did not once buy water in disposable bottles.

    Brittany has worked in landscaping and conservation and is now studying science and is very knowledgeable on native plants and ecology.

    We are settling down and putting our efforts into our own patch of earth. In 2013 Chris bought a very neglected old organic apple orchard with a run-down but cute cottage. We have now rescued 2 acres of orchard from a sea of blackberry bushes and have planted many other fruit trees and a vegetable garden. We have solar power, rainwater tanks and are making the house energy efficient. We don't use air-conditioning ( and it gets hot here) and use home-grown firewood for heating. We try to be reasonably self-reliant.

    Anyhow, we appreciate help on the farm looking after the trees and vegetable garden, doing landscaping, building, planting, beekeeping and lots more! We want people who are genuinely interested in sustainable living. This place is about sustainability, if that isn't your thing then you might find it hard - If you prefer bottled water to rainwater, and packaged food to food from the garden, then it might not suit you. :O)

    There are no city lights, no traffic noise or barking dogs here. You can go on walks in the forest nearby and around neighboring farms. We have a wood fire for winter, a fine veranda for sitting and contemplating in the morning sun and a hammock to put in the trees to escape the summer heat. There are wineries up the road to visit. This really is some of the most idyllic countryside you can imagine.

    It is very, very peaceful here, and if you like to retreat from a busy world, this is the place to do it. We are both often out during the day on week days so you will have it all to yourself then. You need to be a self starter and yes, that does include getting yourself out of bed.

    We like listening to music and reading. We don't watch television but love movies. We make home-brewed beer, bottle and dry fruit and collect mushrooms. We like good conversation and listening to travel stories and life stories. We can laugh at most things, mostly keep busy and really love living here. So will you.

    For those who don't know how the calendar works; RED means no availability that month, YELLOW means "part availability" i.e. partly full or not much need for volunteers at that time and GREEN means volunteers are probably needed! :O)

    Please be prepared to make a contribution. I think 25-30 hours work a week is a fair thing, and sometimes it is hot or wet, but work has to get done.

    We now can provide internet access!. If you have got this far, please mention geese in your email so we know you have gone to the trouble to read this, and you know what the deal is. Thanks!

    "Though much is taken, much abides; and though
    We are not now that strength which in old days
    Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are,
    One equal temper of heroic hearts,
    Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
    To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield. "
    Lord Alfred Tennyson

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chris has traveled to 25 countries, lived in every State in Australia, been a lawyer, truck driver, mine worker, park manager and wildlife ecologist. Chris volunteers in the local volunteer fire brigade and is an elected representative on the Adelaide Hills Council.

    Britt has been a kitchen hand, truck driver, landscaper, bush carer and is currently studying Ecology at Adelaide University. Britt also is in the local volunteer fire brigade.

    As for sustainable living, you can learn about collecting and storing rainwater, growing fruit and vegetables organically, composting, pruning, harvesting, drying and bottling fruit without preservatives, bee keeping, making stuff, basic mechanics, plumbing, cutting and storing firewood, cooking and minimal disturbance bush care.

  • Help


    There are many things to do!
    We are particularly looking for people that can do the following tasks: work in the house, bottle fruit, mow the orchard, garden, do bee-keeping, landscaping (leveling, creating water features for frogs and birds, etc), paving, stone walls, painting the house, vegetable gardening, fruit picking/pruning or shed stuff! I want to build an extension on the house; any builders out there?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little Arabic and Bahasa Indonesian

  • Accommodation


    I have two spare rooms in a small house. There are lovely places to camp if you like.

    PLEASE be aware that we are reliant on rainwater but now have a big storage tank! Harah!! Just the same, economy with water is very important, especially from October to April. So, you must be good at having short showers, not leaving the tap running unnecessarily etc. Just sensible water use really, but not for some people it seems...... :O)

    Oh yes, this does mean you will be drinking rainwater. Yes, the stuff from the sky, people, and no, it is not 'treated'. It is beautiful and clear and much cleaner than the stuff that has passed through ten other people, run off agricultural land or come out of industrial estates and been through what passes for water purification. If you can’t drink rainwater, well what hope is there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot of forest for hiking here. The nearest bus stop to Adelaide is 5km away and the nearest town is 11km, so you can't easily get to an from the farm without grabbing a lift with us (not too hard to arrange!). It is very relaxing here and you will need to enjoy the quiet to like it here. There is no TV but we have lots of birds and a beautiful environment to enjoy. There is a wildlife park 13km away with tame kangaroos, koalas etc. We have plenty of good books that are worth reading, take one onto the veranda.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days maximum

With the mighty Komodo Dragon!
Connie from UK
Janina from Finland
Brown Tree Snake
The Cray brothers.

Host ref number: 995524671246