Come and help us around the house and enjoy rural Bulgaria near Chirpan

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young (28 and 33) English couple living in Bulgaria for four years. We work as online English teachers whilst completely renovating our house and garden ourselves. We are living here with our beautiful rescued dog, Lucy, and our lovely cat, Bilko, who are very friendly and enjoy meeting new people.

    Several years ago we travelled through Europe in a campervan and were volunteers/helpers in 5 different countries (including Bulgaria.) The places we visited and the people we met on that journey inspired us to move out here and live a more simple way of life. We are excited to now be on the other side and feel we have learnt from our experiences and will make good hosts!

    The past four years we have been working on our home to make it liveable (it had been long abandoned when we first arrived!) There is still a long way to go, especially in the garden, but inside the house is now almost complete. We have 2 bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, bathroom with hot shower. However, in the summer months we spend most of our time in the garden!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Come and experience a real, rural, Bulgarian village! Our village is a very quiet, relaxing place. It has a small shop and a bar and many beautiful walks in the surrounding countryside. There is a bigger town (Chirpan) 10kms away that has bigger shops, cafes, restaurants and swimming pool and there are also several places nearby to visit as a day trip - one of our favourites being the amazing city of Plovdiv.

  • Help

    Help

    The plan for this year is to carry on renovations in the garden - including building retaining walls, a summer kitchen, balcony and verandah - so there is some hard work and heavy lifting to do! We will also be growing vegetables and maintaining the garden - there is always plenty of work! We both work 10+ hours a week online, so you will need to be able to work both with us and independently. We would prefer a couple who are happy to work by themselves when necessary.

    Work will vary with the season/what you feel you can help us with. During the spring months (and cooler weather) we will we doing much more building work outside. Jobs will include heavy lifting (stones), concreting, building, carpentry, painting etc. as well as gardening, harvesting produce, cooking and almost anything else you can think of. We are not looking for any particular skills, just people who are enthusiastic, hard working and fun to hang out and chat with! We are only looking for helpers for 1 - 2 weeks maximum.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in our house, in the spare bedroom. We will provide 3 meals a day in exchange for 5 hours work per day. We are not vegetarian but are more than happy to accommodate vegetarians!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is very limited public transport to our village so having your own vehicle may be useful, however there are many bus and train links to Chirpan from all over Bulgaria, so it is not essential.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 995319119717