Help with Gardening and Buildings in Llanfairfechan, North Wales.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    161

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living on the coast of North Wales. My wife, Sam and I run a campsite and bunkhouse on a former dairy farm. The property is a victorian “model” farm constructed in 1858. There is a large range of outbuildings together with camping fields, woodland and a large walled garden. We have two children, chickens, ducks, cats and a dog.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have plenty of spare time to explore the local area. The local beach and bird reserve is a 10 minute stroll away while the Snowdonia National park is a 30 minute walk. The village is a bilingual community with many of the locals speaking Welsh. We can assist with learning some basic Welsh phrases to practice if you would like to try it.
    We have experience in a variety of construction and conservation techniques, and we are happy to guide and share our knowledge during the projects.

  • Help

    Help

    Help can be arranged flexibly around a mutually agreed schedule. There is always lots to do here, we are looking for volunteers to help us with day to day tasks as well as bigger projects. We will do our best to ensure that we match volunteers to tasks that that they find enjoyable and stimulating.

    We are looking for help with the following:

    Gardening
    General maintenance
    Animal Care
    Painting
    Forestry

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a two bedroom self contained apartment for the use of the volunteers. The apartment has two bedrooms a large open plan kitchen / living room and a bathroom with a bath and shower. There is a washing machine and a tumble dryer in the apartment for you to use. We can accommodate up to 4 volunteers at a time.
    Food: We will stock the apartment with basics and provide a cash allowance to supplement this, there is a supermarket and a butchers within easy walking distance of the farm.
    You will be expected to cook your own meals and keep the apartment clean. You are welcome to join us for one evening meal in our house during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are based near the centre of Llanfairfechan. There are good public transport links, regular buses to Llandudno, Conwy, Bangor. Also trains to Chester, Conwy, Holyhead.
    There are many historic sites to visit in North Wales as well as opportunities for adventure; hill walking, mountain biking, rock climbing and so on. You can walk from the farm directly into the Snowdonia National Park and onto the Carneddau mountain range.
    We are a 10 minute walk from the beach and the Welsh coastal path.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week, leaving lots of time to explore beautiful North Wales.






Host ref number: 994863577767