Earthbag building and farming in a mountain village in Izmir, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    391

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm doing agriculture business; mainly mushrooms. We used to do earthbag projects before. So if you are interested in it I can share my experience with you. The house is in a forest village, nearby pine forest. In village you can find plenty tea houses, few small restaurants, small shops for most needs. If you like nature and farm life it’s a good place for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about village culture and ecological construction techniques. During weekends we can explore the forest or go down to town. We are open to learn from you as well. I have started farming recently and would like to learn as much as I can about all aspects and tricks of farming&breeding.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently i need a volunteer for some cement and construction related work, tough its not heavy load task. Kind of slab making, walk brick making etc.. I saw such people that they were not slightly interested in farming or building and they weren't much helpful. I would like to host people that can help me and improve themselves meanwhile.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in our house with shared bathroom and toilet. I don't mind if volunteers cook according to their taste; I will be happy to try different food and they will be happy to eat what they like.

    We have wood burner for shower. So you would need to collect branches or cones from forest to shower with hot water.

    There is bus 6 days per week to/from the village.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We don't have adsl. You can buy local sim card or I can borrow you mine for you to top up internet bundle. There are few restaurants and small shops for basic needs in the village. We live nearby pine forest. You can walk/run/cycle to forest, hunt mushrooms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Forest mushroom
The garden during rain
When cherries blossomed

Host ref number: 994478832399