Volunteers with gardening skills to help around the home and look after animals in the hills in Le Marche region, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 60 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm an American Living in the heart of Marche of Italy. It's not only a hotspot for culture and culinary arts, but also wine! We are very lucky to live among the hills in Le Marche region, a place that is unique in the whole world. We live about 20 minutes from Senigallia Beach and about an hour from the mountains. There is a small international port and airport about 45 minutes from here. There is also a large train station near here and we are a 4 hour train ride from Rome, 3 hours from Florence, about 4 to Venice and 5 from Milan. The closest bus top is about a 15 minute walk from here that, depending on where you want to go, can take you to any of the above mentioned places to arrive anywhere else.

    We live in the country and have hectic lives, I teach English and my Husband is an industrial programmer. I have about 60 animals, 13 birds, 6 hens, a rooster, 6 ducks, 7 cats plus babies, 6 dogs, 8 gerbils and 4 guinea pigs. They are my children, as my son is already an adult and my daughter, who is almost there. we love cooking and being with friends and family when we can. We're very social people and enjoy travelling. Personally I have friends all over the world, though I only speak English, Italian and some Spanish. My husband is ok with French.

    I need people who can: GARDEN, PAINT, CUT TREES (Not pruning but actually cut them down and in small pieces for the fire place), some cleaning, some cooking as to share cultural experiences, and help take care of animals on hectic days, not that this is as important as the first things mentioned!! My main goal is to get some MUSCLE in here to clear out the chopped wood, roof tiles, bits and pieces of rock and brick! I have a bad leg and cannot do much on my own!! Anyone who knows how to fix walls and paint to help better my new family home would be much appreciated!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those who want to improve their English can do so with me, those who want to learn Italian can also do so here. They can learn about Italy, Italian culture, cuisine, wines, history, hundreds of things, or just have a place to stay during the week in exchange for work and go off visiting on the weekends wherever they like!! It all depends on who would like to stay here.

  • Help

    Help

    Because we have hectic lives and crazy jobs and we have recently bought this house we are looking for people with gardening skills, or for extra and7or general maintenance or cleaning in the home here, and also to help on especially busy days with feeding the animals and such. Depending on each person's skills we can organize best the time here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Whoever comes will have their own bedroom in my home. There is a large shared bathroom with a shower and bath, shared kitchen. I am hoping in time to fix the apartment downstairs and eventually there will be that space for who wants to stay here. I live in a large farmhouse in the middle of the country.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Just up the street is a bus stop that goes either down to the beach or in other towns that are connected with trains. I would be willing to also drive the person to a train station for the weekend or whatever they like as long as we plan it ahead of time. I mentioned places above, but there really are too many to type here. I am very bust Monday through Thursday, Friday is a slower day for me. Whoever comes here must be able to carry out their work without us being here all the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View from kitchen window (west) on 19/03/2017.
View from one of the bedrooms.
Part of my Zoo!!

Host ref number: 992453671489