Come and help with some renovations to my home in Amsterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 243 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/02/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Martijn. I'm a photographer, designer and adventure traveller. I just finished two big bicycle journeys, from Amsterdam to Singapore and Vancouver to Patagonia. Of the first one I made a book called One Year on a Bike and a film which received several awards. I'm a digital nomad (as they call that) and live and work often abroad. After a lot of time on the road I'm looking forward to spend some time in my hometown Amsterdam again where I own an apartment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be working together most of the time. Helping hours can be discussed, for if you want do things in the city on a certain time. You can learn some basic building experience and you can enjoy my apartment. It's a comfortable place with a lot of musical instruments.

  • Help

    Help

    *** READ THIS FIRST: Amsterdam hosts receive many requests a day. My planning is flexible and last minute, so don't request for 2 or 3 months in advance. Your best chance is if you are already in Amsterdam or arriving very soon. Only short stays of about 7 days, if we have a good click maybe longer. Thank you! ***

    I am renovating parts of the apartment and a room on the top floor. It's mosly paint work and carpenting. I'm also working on my Land Rover to make it ready for a long trip. There's lots of errands to do around the house. Additionally I use this site to meet with like-minded, creative souls. Pls write something about yourself when you apply. Working hours are flexible, but around 5 hours a day. We will work together most of the time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own private room with double bed. The bathroom is shared. The rest of the apartment and kitchen are also available. Basic meals and coffee and tea are provided. I often cook, but you are also welcome to cook if you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's plenty of restaurants and shops in the neighbourhoods. You can have time off to explore the city and working hours can be discussed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The room which will be renovated
The room that's being renovated
The apartment on the first floor

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 991637539824