Come and help us with our project house in the historic Dawson City, Yukon, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple with a 'project house' in Dawson City, Yukon.

    A bit about us:

    -We love travelling in 'unconventional' ways that let us see beyond the usual tourist lens and we are long-time couchsurfers.
    -We moved to Dawson City two years ago from Ontario, and are currently in the middle of renovating an older house.
    -We love animals. We have a 12 year old domestic short haired cat and a 2 year old Alaskan Husky.
    -We love the outdoors. We are always camping, hiking, and taking advantage of outdoor sport opportunities, no matter the season. Maybe you are the type of person to go on a spontaneous weekend camping trip or mini road trip? Great!!

    Clare: I love sustainable living and learning to be an urban homesteader, running, yoga, knitting, and reading any book I can get my hands on. I'm an urban planner and writing my thesis on the relationship between environmental sustainability and housing affordability.

    Tyler: Loves anything video games, particularly with respect to Zelda and the Nintendo system. I love building things and finding broken things to make them work again. I have worked in kitchens for more than a decade and recently have branched into carpentry and general contracting. I am more quiet and introverted than Clare who is very extroverted.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In your down time, you could explore Dawson and the North Yukon region. We are happy to show you around and share our city with you as much as we are able. Of course you can also explore independently as well! We have lots of interesting recommendations we can share with you. If we are heading out on any type of outdoor adventure while you are here, you are more than welcome to join in if you are interested. We strive to make sure that every traveller feels like home while they are with us.

  • Help

    Help

    What we are looking for in a volunteer/traveller:

    -clean, respectful, & polite
    -flexible, willing to learn, & open to assisting in changing ways
    -friendly, willing to hang out or be independent as the situation allows
    -strong work ethic
    -detail oriented
    -ability to take instructions and work independently
    -likes animals and willing to assist with them

    We ask that travellers provide approximately up to 4-5 hours a day or up to 20-25 hours a week of help/assistance as detailed below. We try to be very flexible with timing, as we want you to enjoy your time here in Dawson. How much assistance we need will also depend on what our schedules are, what season it is, and what projects we have ongoing at the time. Typically, we would be looking for a bit of time during the day while we are at work for help with daily household chores and maintenance, and 3-4 days a week we would need help during the afternoons/early evenings (approximately 4-8pm). This is because most of the renovation work we need to do after our normal jobs on evenings and weekends. We hope to find people who are quick learners and who are keen to practice new skills independently. We will do the best we can to lay out the tasks and time commitments required on a weekly basis so that our travellers can make the most of their time here. It will never be more than the maximum of 5 day a week and 5 hours a day.

    We are looking for someone who is reasonably handy and is willing to lend a hand with day-to-day activities and renovation projects. Our project house has been a really interesting learning experience. We have decided to do most of the work ourselves as we are reasonably experienced (especially Tyler), but we are pretty busy so it is slow going. Tyler is working two jobs, and Clare is working a full time job as well as writing a thesis. Therefore, we have decided to branch out from Couchsurfing and dive into Workaway! We are hoping to find a traveller who would be willing to learn some basic skills to assist with our projects. Bonus points if you already have some skills to share, but it's not required. This can be a shared learning experience!! It is a fun, relaxed, and low-key environment - not a job site.

    Examples of day-to-day include (depending on season):

    -cutting grass & tending to gardens/plants
    -shovelling snow
    -basic household chores
    -cleaning up after the animals
    -walking/running the dog
    -sharing food responsibilities (shopping, cooking, cleaning up)

    Examples of current/upcoming renovation projects:

    -installing siding
    -building an exterior staircase
    -patching & repairing drywall
    -installing interior window trim
    -painting
    -building shelves
    -installing cupboard hardware
    -kitchen backsplash
    -installing vinyl flooring

    We are looking for helpers that would be willing to stay with us for one to three weeks at a time (give or take). If your stay goes well and schedules allow, we would be willing to consider longer stays on a case by case basis. The minimum we are requesting is one week, however we might accept something shorter if there are special circumstances.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    What we can offer travellers:

    -A bed in our guest room (the room is only partially set up at the moment. Sorry! Maybe you will be able to help with this ;) ). The guest bedroom is only big enough for one person. We would consider two people travelling together if you are comfortable with sleeping outdoors. In this case we could offer a tent for you to borrow, but you would need your own sleeping bags. Of course, this option is only available during summer months (May to August) as it is too cold to sleep outside in the winter.
    -Free room and board as if you were a family member, including: bathroom, kitchen, living spaces, laundry.
    -Free wifi, as long as you are respectful of our bandwidth limit.
    -Tips and travelling advice for the Dawson area. We have lots of guidebooks for you to look through and great local insights!
    -The option to join us on any of our outdoor adventuring.
    -Basic food & meals: we will ensure there is sufficient food in the house for our normal habits (small breakfast and lunch, dinner, and snacks). Above and beyond this is the responsibility of the traveller. We do not follow a specific diet but we strive to eat healthy, balanced meals as much as possible and are reasonably flexible to unique dietary restrictions and preferences.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Dawson City is a fantastic place to explore the remote wilderness of Canada's north. If you are a nature lover who does not come to the Yukon, you are missing out! There is much to do here like hiking, mountain biking, swimming (if you are brave!), hunting, fishing, cross country skiing, and much more. The landscape ranges from small quirky towns in river valleys, to vast tundra, to huge rugged mountain ranges. We are close to visit Alaska, and we drive to Whitehorse often so you can visit the south Yukon as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 989618998463