Artist family on Gabriola Island looking for childcare and home help. BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family of 5 with two sets of twins under 5yrs old.
    Our oldest are 5 they love to ride their bikes through the woods and explore the beaches. My youngest twins are just 2 years old and really easy going.

    Considering my kids are quite small, I’m looking for someone for longer stay. This gives the kids time to get to know you and get excited about going on adventures. I am a full time potter with a home based studio/gallery. I make a line of functional work that I sell across the country and teach courses and workshops.
    I host a few art markets at the house as well as take part of the Gabriola Studio tour each year. I have an open gallery throughout the summer and welcome studio assistants from all over the world. I love to teach ceramics and how to make it a thriving career.

    We live on this beautiful island to get away from the city and embrace a quieter life full of forest adventures and lazy days at the beach.
    Our summers are spectacular on gabriola and our winters mild and quiet.

    I have a small garden and expand it every year to grow as much of our own food as possible. We love to can, preserve, and cook. We have 9 mature fruit trees, berries, and take advantage of the wild harvests throughout the year.

    We are a young creative family that enjoys the arts, music, nature and travelling.
    I would love to introduce our kids to other cultures, languages and ways of life.

    I am looking for help in the following areas:
    Childcare
    landscaping
    pruning trees
    cooking/ preserving
    gardening

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gabriola Island is a community rich with outdoor adventure. Our home is situated across the street from one of the most beautiful white sand beaches. Walking and biking trails criss cross the back of the property right up to the 707 acres, a protected forest in the heart of the island. From fishing, digging for clams, beach combing, to live music, outdoor festivals and the farmers market, there is so much to experience.
    Tnere are many courses and opportunities on the island that could be taken from Cobb building, building huglekulture, art exhibitions, cheese making, festival volunteering...

    We are very social and often host bbq's and bonfires. We love to go sailing, paddle-boarding, kayaking and have beach dinners.

    I am often working on a home renovation project, designing, painting and making pottery or hiking to photograph the landscape. Our family would love to teach you any of these skills and in turn learn from you.

  • Help

    Help

    I’m looking for childcare help a few days a week for some or all of the children. I’m flexible with times if you acquire an additional job on the island. Minimum 3 days a week 9-3. Spending time at the beach, nature walks or bike riding. They also enjoy helping with chores, cooking and anything art related. I would love help with outdoor garden space and maintenance and small building projects if time permits.
    As school and childcare disappear for the coming years due to covid, I’d love some help with daily life with the kids. I share custody so there are many days of quiet and alone time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a separate room on the main floor, about 200 sq ft, big windows, single or double bed. Private space with own outdoor access. Internet and Netflix but limited cell service.
    Shared laundry, meals and common space. The house is quite large with lots of deck space, garden area and beaches within walking distance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The forest behind our home is great for foraging wild berries, mushrooms, nettle and wild herbs. We have a large vegetable garden, mature fruit trees and an organic farm down the road with veg and eggs. There are lots of opportunities on the island to trade garden help for food on local farms.
    Considering that we only need a few days a week of help we are more then happy to help you find a part time job or bike crew to go riding with.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A single dog would be ok, I have a wiener dog on the property already.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12-15 hours a week

Host ref number: 989327355794