Help in our garden and around our home in North Florida, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a holistic Horse Farm in beautiful north Florida! Not looking for employees to help with business: We need help ONLY with basic garden and home upkeep. (Gardening, Weeding, Mowing, power washing, etc) Happy to teach you about horses so you can learn as much as you want with the horses!

    We are both lifelong horse and animal lovers who are lucky to do what we love for work! The business was started two years ago when one of us returned from living and working overseas in the horse industry.

    Our place is small (less than 10 acres) and cozy with a modest arena for our work with the horses. We also have several dogs and cats and while we love plants and gardening, we've sadly lost much of the time to keep up with it!

    We are located in Alachua County, FL which is most notably home to Gainesville (University of FL) and High Springs. Gainesville is an adorable college town with a taste of the big city! Delicious restaurants, several museums and weekly free concerts of live music. :)

    High Springs is home to the highest density of natural fresh water springs in the world! You can swim, dive, canoe and kayak in many springs and spring fed rivers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have both been working students, apprentices, volunteers and workaways extensively ourselves- including in foreign countries. We are very flexible and want this to be an awesome experience for everybody! If you just want to help us do these kinds of chores and have a lovely vacation in Florida, you are very welcome. If you have a passion for horses and would like to learn about caring for them holistically or riding and training, you are also welcome!

    One of us is quite fluent in conversational French, and we both have some crude German comprehension. Regardless, we love to learn languages and as we both teach for a living, we would be more than happy to help you learn and improve your English if you are not a native speaker.

    Since we also know what it is like to be in a new place we would love to show you around FL! We both enjoy the role of tour guide and there are tons of opportunities to see completely unique cities and natural wonders in this area of the US.

    If you are interested in horses or animal training in general, we have so much to offer in the way of education ranging in all topics from holistic healthcare to behavioral modification.

    We love meeting new people and look forward to having you and sharing an adventure or two!

  • Help

    Help

    We run a holistic horse training and rider teaching business. This means we live on acreage and are involved in a lot of physical work. We already have help with our business but basic home chores and maintenance is difficult for us to keep on top of with our schedule. There are always plants which need care, weeds which need pulling, grass which needs mowing and things which need cleaning!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private or shared room (your preference) with a shared bathroom, common area, and kitchen. Internet, Netflix, Amazon prime, and a computer are all available to you.

    Eating healthy is important to us both. As part of your stay here all food at home is included in the exchange. Cooking is for us a social and enjoyable group activity and you are welcome to participate in it as much as you like! You are also welcome to free range at your own preference, pace and schedule.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Possibility to use a vehicle. A bike available. Also available, a canoe and kayaks. We are located very close to Gainesville, where University of Florida is. As well as High Springs with beautiful spring-fed rivers and swimming holes! Only about 2 hours away from historic St. Augustine, Orlando, and Tampa. Less than an hour away from Ocala and lovely Cedar Key. We also love to get out and have fun and love showing people all around this beautiful area! If you are horse people, all the better as we are located right in the heart of horse country!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 988143212515