Experience rural life, learn organic & permaculture growing techniques and help with house/dog sitting in Halesworth, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 36 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I work for an educational charity, reconnecting young people with food and farming. I grow much of my own food inspired by permaculture techniques on half an acre of land near the beautiful Suffolk coast. My dog needs looking after when I am away with work, and there is always plenty to do in the garden!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience rural life on a beautiful part of the UK coast, learn organic & permaculture growing techniques.

  • Help


    I would like help from an individual or couple to look after my 1/2 acre garden and my dog when I am away. I live in a rural area, which is ideal for those who love walking and cycling. If you are looking for a peaceful stay with country pubs and good local food, this is for you!
    The workload will be very minimal; simply maintaining the garden and polytunnel as required, and general outdoor tasks. You will preferably have some knowledge and experience of organic vegetable growing, but must be dog-friendly.
    During the days I am away, my dog would need walking for an hour in the morning, and a shorter walk in the evening. She is a very friendly Staffordshire Bull Terrier cross, she loves people and is fine with most dogs, but is kept on a short lead when greeting other dogs as a precaution.
    The accomodation is used as a holiday rental in the summer months, so is of a high standard and must be well looked after.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Self contained studio with double bed, shower room and small kitchen. Please note food is NOT included. There is Wi-Fi and an effective oil heater - there is no central heating in the accomodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A bus from the village takes you to the popular coastal town of Southwold, or the nearest town which is Halesworth. Halesworth also has a train station which connects to Norwich and London.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days

Host ref number: 986237582921