Would you like to come to London, UK, to walk our dogs & teach my daughter Spanish/French?

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 756 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 55 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Would you like to stay in London, UK in return for walking our dogs & helping my daughter with her Spanish and French?

    WHO WE ARE: I'm a law lecturer living with my 18 year old daughter in London. My daughter is in her last year of school, studying Spanish and French, and preparing to study Spanish and German (as a beginner) at university.

    WE'RE LOOKING FOR: We'd love to host a dog friendly couple/pair of friends who are fluent in Spanish, French and English, ie. tri-lingual/native/fluent in all 3 languages (C1-C2 level in Spanish and French, and at least B1 level in English).

    HOUSE: We live in a beautiful, light, large, 3 bedroom house with garden (with koi pond, dining area and summerhouse) in Camden, very close to Central London (minutes walk away from all public transport including tube, overground train, buses), a few minutes away from Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston stations and a very short bus ride from Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Tottenham Court Road, Covent Garden etc).

    We live with 4 little Maltese lap dogs (who do not shed hair, are tiny, cute, easy going and very affectionate :)

    YOUR ROOM: You will have a room with a huge bed (larger than superking size), wardrobe/cupboard/storage space, a desk & 2 chairs. The bed has a memory foam mattress and a choice of memory foam and feather pillows; there are dimmable lights, one large window with a black out blind, and views overlooking the garden. Immediately next door to the room is a bathroom for your exclusive use, with a shower, toilet, sink & mirrored cabinet for your use.

    If you are friends rather than a couple, the 2nd person will be in a 2nd room, with a superking memory foam mattress, choice of pillows, dimmable lights, 3 large windows with black out blinds and views overlooking a very quiet, cobbled mews street. You'll be sharing the bathroom with the other person.

    FOOD: You'll be eating the food that we eat, mostly from Planet Organic (eg. sushi, vegetarian, vegan and meat based dishes - both hot and cold, pastries, organic breads etc), Deliciously Ella (vegan food, both hot and cold), Pret a manger (usually meat and fish based sandwiches/baguettes and salads), some lovely bakeries (Artisan Foods and Bread by Bike, both of which have lovely organic, sourdough bread and cakes etc). We welcome vegetarians, vegans or omnivores :)

    TOILETRIES: Basic toiletries like toilet rolls, tissues, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner (& room cleaning products) are included.

    INTERNET: You will have free use of unlimited, extremely high speed fibre optic broadband (for video streaming etc) throughout the whole house and garden (including the summerhouse). If you wish, you can also have exclusive use of an ipad and an Alexa speaker.

    PHONE: You will have free use of an iPhone with Skype, Whatsapp, UK calls, texts and data included.

    TRAVEL: You will have free use of one Oyster travelcard with unlimited London bus travel. You will also have use of a selection of bicycles/locks.

    FREE/CHEAP TICKETS: We have access to free and very cheap (£3.70) tickets for theatre/opera/music/dance/comedy/ other events, which you'd be welcome to have.

    MISC: if you want, we can help you find other, paid part-time work in our immediate area (eg. babysitting, dog walking, tutoring, gardening, DIY work, admin work, hospitality work etc) so that you can earn some money.

    WHO WE'RE LOOKING FOR: We're looking for a couple who can stay for as long as possible (up until June/July 2020) and help us for a maximum 25 hours per week per person, doing a combination of dog walking, admin & helping my daughter with her Spanish and French. The work would involve: 1 person doing 2 hours morning dog walking (any time you choose from 7am-11am); 1 person doing 2 hours afternoon dog walking (anytime you choose from 1pm - 5:30pm); and one or both of you doing a maximum of 1.5 hours French/Spanish/admin. The latter is flexible: 1.5 hours for both of you in the evening on Tuesday and Sunday, and whenever suits by you/by mutual agreement on other days. NB. There will be many days when there is no admin or French/Spanish to do, so you'll be free apart from the dog walking :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Other
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live very close to central London - the 29 bus stop is 1 minute from our house and takes you straight to Trafalgar Square (in about 15 mins when there is little traffic). London has amazing free museums (eg. National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, British Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, Tate Modern, Tate Britain etc) and cheap/fun things to do (exploring indoor and outdoor markets, second hand/charity shops, parks, architecture, theatre etc).

    We also live extremely close to Kings Cross, St Pancras & Euston and close to other stations (eg. Marylebone, Paddington, Waterloo) from where you can get trains to explore the whole country.

    We are easy going and friendly - we stay in touch with our former workawayers, many of whom have stayed with us for a long time (the longest stay was for 3 years!).

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for a couple who can stay for as long as possible (up until June/July 2020) and help us for a maximum 25 hours per week per person, doing a combination of Spanish and French teaching, dog walking and admin. The work would involve: 1 person doing 2 hours morning dog walking (any time you choose from about 7am-11am); 1 person doing 2 hours afternoon dog walking (anytime you choose from about 1pm - 5:30pm); both of you doing 1.5 hours French/Spanish/admin (flexible hours: in the evening on Tuesdays and Sundays, and whenever suits by you/by mutual agreement on other days).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, good Spanish, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a sunny, beautiful, big, 3 bedroom house with a garden in London - very close to the famous Camden market and within very easy reach of central London. We have unlimited and very fast internet, and subscription services to Sky TV, Netflix and Amazon Prime for you to use.

    You are welcome to cook, as long as you don't mind clearing up afterwards. You're also welcome to use the washing machine & tumble dryer for laundry.

    We do not smoke/vape and would not want to host anyone who smokes/vapes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to see and do (many of which are free or very low cost), it would be impossible to list them all. We have dozens of London guide books and maps that you are very welcome to borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week maximum - in practice, will be less.

Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View of garden from your bedroom
View of pond from your bedroom
Living room
Living room
Living room
Your bedroom
Your bedroom
Amalie and me
Me with dogs in kitchen
Amalie and dog on sofa next to dining table In kitchen
Garden
Kitchen
Your bedroom
Host ref number: 735727978577