Help improve the family farm house at an alpaca farm In Maine, US

Country

United States

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    586

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a small family farm nestled within the high peaks region of Central Maine in the beautiful town of Phillips. The alpacas have bountiful views of both Saddleback Mountain and Mount Abrams, the chickens and guinea hens graze freely amongst them. Jeff and Maureen are creating a farm to suit their young family and simple way of life. Having the alpacas trounce around in their mountain pasture and make their calming hum noises transports one to a different time and place that may be quite foreign from our normally busy hectic days.

    While there are continuosly evolving projects on the farm, fence building, out buildings to be repaired, fields to be created, orchards to be planted, etc., our main goal is to get our house in proper working order. Objectives being to create a guest room and a larger kitchen common area able to direct heat to the whole house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My wife and I are a unique couple with an incredible bunch of children. We have been at this property in Maine for almost four years and have built up the farm animals to include eight alpacas, four goats, and a flock of chickens, ducks and guinea hens. We are always trying to learn and improve a healthy way of life and enjoy conversations and the exchange of ideas to further our knowledge down this path. We have a lot to offer from what we have learned.

    We are a big happy family here with much to offer. Our lifestyle in itself surely is an inspiration, but we can also teach someone English, Spanish or Swahili. We may not always be experts, but we can teach our ever increasing knowledge in farming and gardening.

    The area in which we live is great for hiking, fishing, swimming and all other outdoor activities. If you like the outdoors and nature, you'll be in paradise. The combination of our tremendous view of the mountains and the grazing animals is picture perfect. Our rural town is a combination of true "Mainers" and out of state "Flatlanders" like ourselves.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can build, who can design and create with materials onsite, who can use their vision for repurposing or recycling, to help restore or rebuild part of our home. We have an old farmhouse that honestly feels as though it is falling apart. But, we have 90 acres of wood and stone that can be used to create interesting spaces. Being the son of an architect, I have many design ideas to put into action, from using passive solar and wind power to creating open spaces to distribute heat in the winter and cool breezes for the summer. We are always striving to go off grid as much as possible, but we do not always have the means or time to get there.

    The two specific projects would be turning a sun room into a guest room, and transforming the middle of the house into a real kitchen and living area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Swahili

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The sunroom would be the ideal place for a guest bedroom, where of which workstayers would sleep. Of course this room is not ready for prime time and is part of the project. In which case what we call the “Great Room” because of its wonderful view would be the ideal place for workstayers.

    As far as food, it would be a combination of meals made by us or together utilizing fresh vegetables from our gardens and of course there are a couple of local places to eat out if needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My wife and I fully respect everyone and expect the same of others. We are kind and courteous people raising wonderful kids. We teach our children to respect the privacy of our guests and to be polite. The guests we have had using air bnb have always been wonderful people who pick up after themselves, are quiet, etc. We would expect the same from workstayers.

    Time off can include all the out door activities, hiking the Appalachian Trail or the property, exploring nearby towns and natural beauty (waterfalls), kayaking on nearby Sandy River, and all the other American venues (restaurants, movies, etc.)

    At this time, I am not sure what the transportation will be. Obviously, I can give rides to town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 985584953596