Help with creative construction and gardening near the beach in San Giuliano, Corsica, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 548 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    61

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Good morning everyone!!

    My name is Marcello I’m born in the Netherlands, after traveling for some time I have now landed on Corsica and being living here since 6 years on a beautiful property close to the sea together with my cats and some wild turtles actually while typing this I can hear the waves!! The land is not mine but i’m sort of free to do what I want, there is a big piece of forest with a path to a nice open place this is where I'm now building a cabin from material I found and recycle one thing that has to be done is cleaning the place. I make my money as an electrician/eco builder and try to be as much as possible at my little paradise called home.
    I build o lot from scratch with lot’s of improvising and going with the flow the idea is to recycle and reuse materials : pallets, things others throw away and the wood I find at the beach.
    I have a small vegetable garden it would be nice to extend it a bit.One of the things that need to done first is to build some more fencing so the sheeps cannot eat all the nice vegetables and build a chicken coop.


    EVERYBODY IS WELCOME as long as she/he has a super big motivation for doing things and learn together your input is important…The idea is to be happy with the activity you are doing.
    Be welcome at my place !!

    I can offer for you a stay in a tent or you can stay in your own Van or tent.

    I have many ongoing projects and only two hands to finish all. I hope to find people with experience in woodworking, gardening, wild-plants knowledge, painting, welding, sewing etc. There is always something to do and space to find what you like the most depending on priorities. I can share my knowledge about building, off-grid living and being creative with recycling

    Some ideas and projects:

    - Change the outside kitchen place
    - Work in the vegetable garden with a little greenhouse
    - Cleaning the forest (cutting trees & making paths)
    - Finishing the cabin
    - New mobile sauna (this winter I will start on it already have a nice base and all the wood for the exterior)
    - Outside workout / fitness place
    - Solar powered mobile Soundsystem (I'm also a Reggae, Soul,Funk and Jazz dj and my records need to be played)
    - Woodturning I have a lathe but no experience
    - Painting/restoring of wood structure 7m yurt
    - Creating/ Finishing a wood stove for a hot tub
    - Lights from recycled wood
    - Preparing Firewood
    - Welding another stove for the sauna and the one for the caravan
    - Prepare the place for organising yoga, massage, sweat-lodge, healthy food & juice and meditation workshops
    - Document the projects, take photos for the new blog or Instagram
    - Building a solar dryer for tomatoes and fruits
    - etc, etc..

    The region where I live is called Costa Verde" the green coast.
    I really enjoy a "work" atmosphere and I love to build and create things together with other people. As an early bird I like the energy of the morning I live on the sunny side of the sea so every morning it's possible to see the sunrise. My camp has a dry-toilet and outside shower and my kitchen is partly an open space so when it's raining (which is rare in summer) life can be a bit challenging. Also expect some mosquitos (a lot!!!)
    I do have experience in hosting people on other platforms. I worked as a volunteer in several places so I know what it is.

    Send a request with a good description of your previous experiences and your ideas..And if you have any questions feel free to ask.

    I speak: French, English, Dutch and German.

    No dogs that’s complicated with the cats

    inspiration: Yurts, Tiny-House, Autonomy, Green Energy, Nature, Mobile Living, Juice and Healthy vegetarian food, Sea, Swimming, Sunrise, Outdoor living, Off-grid, Cycling, Woodturning, Building from scratch/trash, Vegetable garden, Art, Didgeridoo, Music, Sauna, Meditation & Yoga, Vipassana, Corse, Corsica..

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a self taught creative builder with many different experiences and tons of ideas and projects..The sea plays a big part in my life overhere with beautiful sunrises I can teach people how to build, be creative, be independent and about off grid living

  • Help

    Help

    I like to build things together as a team..depending on the materials I have. One of the things to do is building a treehouse, outside fitness/workout place and continue with cleaning up the forrest and make it more accessible. I'm working towards preparing the place so that's possible to do yoga with friends and organize a yoga week with 6 - 8 persons just for the fun..taking days off to explore the island is no problem everything is possible.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A tent, on corsica you can live outside most of the time..When available the yurt or caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a 30 minute walk to arrive at the bus stop from their you can take a bus direction Bastia (45min) or Porto-Vecchio (80min)..The nearest airport is Poretta (Bastia) and the port for the ferries is in Bastia too
    For walking there's the beach and the mountains (10km) with lots of walking routes, rivers and waterfalls..
    In summer there's plenty of things going on (concerts, markets etc.) in spring, autumn and winter it's rather calm..
    There is also a bicycle available

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Take it light
Cabin
Kitchen and shower
I’m running my online recordshop from my caravan
My little yurt counting sheep makes me sleepy
Magic garden
After work it time to relax..One of my favorite places Lac Urbino
Morning sunrise at my beach
Lac Urbino
My little sauna I build it from scratch
Sauna interior
Tyg one of the cats


Host ref number: 981362895676