Help with restoring an old colonial house in Lecce, Italy



Favourited 171 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a friendly , easy going italian family, it's me , my girl and my grandma next door who will cook great meals for all of us.
    I have an old colonial House in the center of the village , another in front of the sea and a project of building a hostel in one of them therefore i need specific expertise , please read further down in the HELP section.
    We are very sociable, there is a lot going on, and the village is next to the sea. The property is quite big so there is a lot of privacy and contemplation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Get to know this wonderful part of the country , the '600 Baroccan architecture , the splendid seaside , our local tradition , and the authenticity of the old Italian culture and language. Some locals only speak rare dialects.

  • Help


    We would particularly love to host anyone who has building , gardening , or electrician skills .
    Basically the colonial House needs to get basement restoration including cleaning , plastering , fix the electrical system as well as for the garden we'd like to clean, relive some trees, remake the grape structure in pietra leccese (lecce's stone, a peculiar carved rock of this area used in construction.
    Same for the house in front of the beach , plastering , painting ,tailing and once the new land is ready (about November 2017 ) we will start with the hostel/camping project.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have 2 bedrooms and could host up to 4 people at the same time but we prefer 2 people. We might also split 2 for the colonial house and 2 for the beach house if needed .You'll have your own toilet with shower.
    We will provide 3 meals a day , as written above my grandma will cook heaps of food everyday , mainly old Italian cuisine so not very light eheh but we will integrate with lots of fruit and veggies no worries!
    We dont provide alcohol but you are welcome to bring some if you like to have a drink in the evening

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live half an hour from Lecce , our local transportation could get you here by bus or by train in Spongano where we'll pick you up.
    There are 100 villages in Salento , each one has its own dialect and many different local festivals happen specially in the summer time. You can use our bicycle to visit around or hire any car or bike from the village.
    Lecce is a magnificent Baroccan City , lots of history to explore and great local food from the well-known Puccia leccese to the exported Rustico Leccese
    The Beach house is in Castro , the pearl of Salento , one of the best beachside in Italy .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4-5 hrs a day for 5days a week

Host ref number: 977155959236