Welcoming help at our family home in Offaly, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a beef farm in the countryside. My husband and I have two young children & a dog (outdoor). We have recently renovated an old period house and are now just trying to put the finishing touches to it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They call Offaly hidden Ireland, as its a little off the beaten tourist track. Its a very beautiful county with lots of Irish culture close to hand. You would get to see how real life is lived in Ireland, but also we are central to all the big cities so day trips are very easy. If you would like to learn about our culture, day to day lifestyle, also use your time off to visit the bigger town and cities then our location and family should suit your needs.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with general maintenance such as cleaning, painting, gardening, handy help.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom with double bed, en-suite bathroom, kitchenette & TV and WiFi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our region/ county is Offaly which has plenty to see and do such as the Georgian town of Birr, which is 5 km away, lough boora parklands, local whiskey distilleries, the river Shannon dotted with pretty towns, villages and the famous monastic settlement of Clonmacnoise. We live just outside a village called Kinnitty located at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, which has great walking & cycling trails Our location is also very central to major cities like Dublin, Galway or Kilkenny all within 2 hrs travel distance with bus and railway services nearby. The local village has great pubs and a Castle with traditional Irish music sessions on regularly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 975643189666