Experience language and cultural exchange at our place in Mérida, Mexico.

Country

Mexico

Favourited 408 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2079

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    "We need somebody on July"

    Guys and girls sorry in advance if I dont respond all the messages, we receive a lot every day and I try to answer most of them but It takes a lot of time. Either way I appreciate all your request and most of the time I will respond in 3 days if we have a spot for you.

    Hey all :) Rodrigo and Roberto here, two brothers with a rooftop bar that just opened in July 2019. We are currently looking for volunteers to help us with the bar.

    As for us, it’s a long story. We are both lawyers but we are done with the corrupt legal system of Mexico. We have been looking for a way of living that doesn’t involve giving bribes to authorities and all that dirty stuff that comes naturally with this line of work.

    So a year ago we decided to open a bar, to do what we like the most for a living (partying and meeting new people and cultures). So far, it’s been one of the greatest decisions we ever made. If you are looking for a place to party, meet new people and really get to know the Mexican way of living and thinking, you are welcome to join us. 420

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Necesitamos a alguien para Junio"
    Chicas y chicos, una disculpa de entrada por no responder todos los mensajes, recibimos varios cada día y si bien trato de responderlos todos, muchas veces no tengo el tiempo de hacerlo. Como quiera que sea, agradecemos a todos por su interés y en caso de que tengamos un lugar para ustedes les responderemos en menos de tres días.

    Hola amigos (as), somos dos hermanos (Rodrigo y Roberto) y tenemos un bar. Estamos buscando voluntarios para que nos ayuden limpiando y atendiendo el bar.

    En cuanto a nosotros, es una larga historia. Ambos somos abogados, pero estamos cansados de lidiar con el corrupto sistema legal mexicano y buscamos un modo de vida que no involucre sobornar funcionarios y toda esa corruptela que acompaña esta linea de trabajo. Por lo mismo decidimos iniciar nuestro propio negocio haciendo lo que mas nos gusta, echar fiesta y conocer culturas y personas nuevas. Hasta el momento ha sido una de las mejores decisiones que hemos tomado.

    Entonces, si estas buscando un lugar para echar fiesta, hacer amigos y conocer la verdadera cultura mexicana, te invitamos a que te nos unas.
    420

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are looking for people who want to learn Spanish and live the Mexican culture, the volunteer will be treated as a friend or family, which also includes going to parties, meetings in a way that is integrated and alive as a Yucatecan and knows the traditions , customs, and places of interest such as beaches, cenotes and archaeological sites. The great advantage of Mérida is that it is the safest city and the best qualified in quality of life in all of Mexico. Well, the idea is that we learn languages both volunteers and we as owners during work.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for volunteers to help us cleaning, tending tables and serving drinks in the bar. We open from Thursday to Saturday from 10 pm to 3 am, and the job is quite simple. 30 minutes before, give a little clean to the bar and prepare it to be opened. During the operational time, you serve drinks and chat with the clients. We split the tips evenly with the volunteers ;) so that’s a bonus.


    IMPORTANT: WE ARE ONLY LOOKING FOR PEOPLE INTERESTED 20 DAYS OR MORE.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Necesitamos voluntarios que nos ayuden a atender en el bar.

    Abrimos de jueves a sábado de 10 pm a 3 am y el trabajo es muy sencillo, limpiar un poco antes de abrir, servir tragos, atender mesas y platicar con los clientes. La propina se divide equitativamente con los voluntarios, así que es dinero extra.


    Importante: Buscamos gente que se quede mínimo 20 días.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english 80%, spanish 100%, german 25%

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a single bed for each volunteer, and its own private bathroom. We don’t have time to make food so we just give cash for the groceries. (The room is in the same bulding as the bar)

    The financial support is based on our experiences of how much people spend on food in Mexico. So far it has been enough for our volunteers as long as they cook their own meals.

    Volunteers are given $200 pesos per week, plus the tips from the bar (the median amount earned from tips per week is 100 pesos each volunteer)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Tenemos un cuarto privado con baño exclusivo para voluntarios en el mismo local del bar.

    Damos un apoyo económico de 200 pesos semanales por voluntario para comida , mas lo que se ganen en propina (promedio 100 pesos semanales).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Once the work is done, the volunteers can do as they please. The bar is 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the historic center and the bus terminal. The public transport passes in both corners so it is simple and very economical to move around the city.

    The places to visit nearby are the cathedral of Mérida, Archaeological Sites of Ancient Mayan Ruins, Cenotes, beaches and the most important know local people.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Cuando los voluntarios terminan su trabajo son libres de hacer lo que quieran.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 7 hours a day, 3 days per week

Me with Maria (girl with the hat) our volunteer from Poland visiting Dzibilchaltun ruins and cenote, also with our guests from Uk and Guadalupe Island.









Host ref number: 974367551341