Have fun with us on our farm; building, farming and laughing in Varmland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 254 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a dutch family in Sweden; 2adults and 3 children. We live on 7 hectare farmland, where we have horses, sheep, chickens, dogs and a cat.

    We like to grow our own vegetables in the permaculture way; we try to be partially self sufficient.

    All farm activities are hobby, but have self sufficiency as a goal. We are a Swedish 'familjehem'; which means we take care of children that can no longer live with their biological parents. We now have a boy in the age of 12, a two girls in the age of 6 and a 2years old.

    Since we moved here in 2010, we have renovated the old farm, but there is still lots of work to do. We spend a lot of time hard working on the farm, but when we take a break, we like to; go canoeing, kayaking, walking the dogs, long walk in the forest, snowshoe hike, cross country skiing, ride a wagon behind a horse, indoor climbing/bouldering on our self built wall, practising survival skills, etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    There is always a lot of work here, we don't have work pressure, but we expect hard workers.

    In the spring firewood & gardening is a lot of work, in the summer harvesting the hay is a lot of work.

    Building and maintenance we do all year round.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Summer accommodation in tents (your own or one of our tipi's)

    Winter accommodation is a matras on the floor in our house.

    During early spring and autumn you can stay in our Gypsy Caravan.(woodstove heated)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the weekends there is a lot of fun stuff to do in the area; if you like:
    -wilderness hiking
    -canoeing (we have canoes)
    -mountainbike (bring your own)
    -cycling (we do have a few normal bikes you could use)
    -swimming (many lakes around)
    -indoor climbing on our own private 'bouldering/climbing wall'(bring your climbing shoes!)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 974255523754