Come contribute to the creation of a suburban permaculture farm in Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I bought my home in Darra two years ago and I'm excited about getting it established as a suburban permaculture farm. I've previously run an urban farm at my sharehouse so I have experience in this but I need some help with ongoing projects and maintaining the farm. Jobs include creating compost, building new garden beds, animal care (geese, chooks and cats) and yard work. If you're interested in permaculture, I'll happily teach you about the principles. I also enjoy cooking and making fermented food and drinks (like sourdough, kombucha, kefir, sauerkraut) and can teach you techniques and share the spoils! The area is close to bushland, friendly and multicultural. Kangaroos can be seen behind the back fence and there's lots of native birdlife around. There is a spare bicycle to use and the local shops and train are a short cycle away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about permaculture, self-sufficiency, and low impact living. I cook delicious vegetarian food (or vegan if required), and I'm happy to teach you new meals and techniques. I have a car and can show you around the region and teach you about living in Brisbane. I am happy to help with language exchange (I speak a very small amount of Spanish and would love to improve). You would learn about urban farming in a subtropical climate, poultry care, composting, and so much more. I like to have little craft days where we make things like homemade toiletries (toothpaste, deodorant, moisturiser) and natural cleaning products.

    Nearby you can walk through beautiful scrub, dip your feet in the creek and visit local Vietnamese restaurants. The area is close to bushland, friendly and multicultural. Kangaroos can be seen behind the back fence and there's lots of native birdlife around.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help building the permaculture garden and caring for the chooks, geese and other animals. It would be fantastic if you have permaculture experience but not essential. General building experience would also be great, but not essential. A willingness to learn and to live a low impact life is really all you need. My project is more than just a hobby, I am building an income and a way of life. I will run my suburban permaculture farm as a demonstration site and education centre, teaching people how to live a low impact life with what they already have - so you'll get the chance to really help contribute to something big!

    I work two half days and three nights a week. Ideally, there would be a few longer days (5 or so hours with breaks during the hottest parts of the day). There's always the daily chores which take less than an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening each day during the week (feeding chickens, collecting eggs, watering the plants). Cleaning up after yourself is not included in the 20 hours; that’s just being a decent human! You're welcome to take days off, just let me know in advance so I can plan.

    I choose to live a very low impact life. This involves composting, reducing my waste, collecting local food waste from stores, trying to bring very little plastic into the home, collecting water etc.

    An upcoming project includes designing and building a new chicken coop - I would love to host someone with carpentry or building skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Darra is a multicultural suburb, about 15km from the city centre. I live alone with my chickens, geese, and two cats (plus occasionally foster cats). I have two single rooms available. You would have your own room and a shared bathroom. The rooms are comfortable, with a single bed in each one and everything else you'd need.

    Food is included - usually dinner I can cook for us or you can cook; ingredients for breakfast and lunch are readily available for self-catering. It's a vegetarian home so no meat in the house. There is also no smoking in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sorry, I don’t have internet access.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approximately 20 hours a week (4-5 hours a day, five days a week).






Host ref number: 973758634657