Farm life and art exchange in Pedra Bela, São Paulo, Brazil

Country

Brazil

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an artist (painter), art therapist and Alexander's Technique teacher. After finishing my doctorate degree in Fine Arts I fell in love with the Permaculture and Agroecology principles and took 3 years off to live in a farm and learn/ practice these principles.
    Now that I have my own land I need help to work the land and to finish the house.

    The idea is to have a place that intertwines land working and art working in the future.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located at Serra da Mantiqueira, a beautiful mountan range on the border between São Paulo and Minas Gerais.

    We practice the Permaculture principles and the Sintropic Agriculture farming principles as well.
    The travellers will have a chance to learn about thse principles.

    Also, the main house is my art studio ( I have been a painter for 30 years and hold a PhD in fine arts) and I am willing to show and talk about art with my guests.

  • Help

    Help

    The main house at Sítio Pedregulho is at its latest stages of construction.
    I am already living here, but we need help to many details and finishings.
    As I am trying to learn to play the piano, some instruction on this is highly valued as well! :)

    We do not have electricity at this moment, it should arrive by the end of the year.
    We did the construction using a generator and now I turn it on when sunlight goes out and keep it running for about 3 hours.
    At this time we charge cel phones and laptops, wash clothes and so on.
    We only have wifi connection when the generator is on.
    If there is a good need, we turn it on during the day.

    We also need help on the vegetable garden and food forest on the next months, before and during the rain season (November to January is the rain season here in the southwest of Brazil).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room / shared room/ camping at the main house, where I live.
    The type of accomodation will depend on how many guests I have at the moment, but it will be discussed in advance with the workawayer.

    I will provide vegetarian food and the meals will be prepared together.
    If there is any special dietary need we can discuss it in advance

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have waterfalls, hiking and bike trails in the area.
    Public transportation is available but is scarce.
    The nearest town (Toledo, MG) is 6km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

nosso final de dia
Leo, nosso construtor, fazendo a elétrica da casa.
Cassia, Loba e Mombasa
a casa e a mata
Shared guest room
This is the private guest room.
living room/ studio
This is our house/ art studio at Sitio Pedregulho! Just moved in and need help with finishings, as well as implementing our organic vegetable gardens and fruit forests!
Host ref number: 972159929559