Live in a very old house, in a very little ski resort in the French Alps, France

  • Favourited 756 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We, Laurence et Laurent (53-54) live in a very old house in a very little ski resort. We have 4 children 28, 26, 24 years old and a young girl who was born in 2017.
    We rent two flats during holidays. We have a permaculture garden during summer and get warm with solar panels and by burning wood in winter. We have some animals : donkeys, ducks, chickens, rabbits. Our house is located in a little hamlet in the middle of the mountains. We practice hiking, ski touring, climbing, mountain biking, ski, snowshoeing...
    We own an old house to repair with a forest all around where we cut wood for heating our house during cold season.
    Laurence worked in a tourist office for 25 years, she's currently developping a new activity as a games author and Laurent has his own company in electricity, soft energies and he is a technology teacher.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We share at least one meal a day and like to make you progress in French (or speak in English or Spanish if you start in French!) As well as make you discover the French culture but also mountain.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    All activities around a small farm with donkeys, ducks, chickens and rabbits.
    Permaculture gardening. You can also help by cutting wood, ignite the fire in the boiler.
    In winter, you will have the snow removal.
    Help in the kitchen and laundry room, cleaning our furnished apartments, looking after our young daughter.
    Help with mounting films or design serious games on gardening, fauna and flora around the house.
    We need autonomous people to take care of the animals (ducks, rabbits, chickens, donkeys...), to drive to go shopping with one of our cars (on mountain roads!)...

    You will be happy to stay in our home if you enjoy hiking in the mountain, being into the wild nature and if your are indepedant and autonomous!

    Thank you for your answer!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Depends on days, one of the three flats when they are not booked or in one of our bedrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is located near the Aravis pass, in the middle of the nature.

    Perfect for people who are fond of hiking, ski touring, climbing or mountain bike. Marvellous landscapes, near the Mont-Blanc.
    Many things to do around if you like the wild.

    We are about 45 km away from Annecy in the North of the French Alps which is called touristically the Venice of Savoie.
    Chamonix is at 1h by car, a little more by bus or hitchhiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The main room of one rental flat is used as coworking space out of holidays. At this time, the connexion is not too bad.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Depending on the season, the weather, the snow and the van, but there is space on the parking behind the house or in our forest.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 971522194755

Feedback (17)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)