Join our family and help on our little hobby farm in Roedekro, Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 3 generation family where it definitely never gets boring!

    One year ago we moved from northern Germany to this beautiful place here in southern Denmark. And don't regret this decision for a second :-)

    I like the idea of multicultural and always wanted to exchange this experience. A few years ago I did something like work and travel on my own and always wanted to give something like this back. I was very thankful for the places I could stay, live and even more for the warm welcome in so many families!
    Now I am having the time and space to invite someone in my house and life.
    We call this farm our home. It is a small organic farm on the edge of the Danish mountains. Yes, that's right, we really have such a thing as mountains and that right next to the Baltic Sea! Our farm is about 60 hectares in size, has a lot of pastureland for the animals, a little arable land and even more forest.This is our place to make dreams come true, enjoy life and let our creativity run free. Every one of us is having its own part in it. My grandma has her flowers, my mum her dogs and vegetable garden, my dad likes to go hunting, my partner is having his cows and I have my horses. In addition to the daily help in the house, garden and with the animals, we are actually always building something new, changing something or beautifying something on the farm. So there is always work to do. We would be happy if you would give us a hand with the projects or if you would like to take on a fixed task and responsibility with the horses. We all love the nature, outside work, living close together with the animals and would like to share it with others.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In return I can teach you how to connect with horses, you can learn how to work with different machinery, learn more about Flora and Fauna and explore the beautiful nature between north sea and Baltic sea or learn together with us the danish language. We can show you what hunting realy means and all includes and if you like you can also learn how to shoot clay pigeon. ( This is more a men thing, I prefer the cocking park ;-) )

  • Help

    Help

    We always have something to do. Be it taking care of the animals(mucking stables, feeding or brushing them) , gardening, field or forest work or one of the many projects such as construction, building tiny houses, woodwork, building fences or other creative projects. To be there when a calf is born, to look for fawns before the hay harvest or to help with the pheasantry.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Since we do not fluently speak danish, you are welcome to join us in our home school time 2 times a week.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in our large farmhouse and you are very welcome to use our common rooms.
    Since we all of course also pursue our own professions, we are all more or less on the move.
    At the weekend we at least try to come together and work on different projects together. On the other hand, myself always works when everyone else is free. That's why I'm often not there on the weekends myself. Therefor I'm mostly in the yard on weekdays and hold the position.
    So you will never be alone on the farm and you will always have a contact person if something should arise.
    Despite this, or perhaps because of that, it is very important to us to at least cook, eat and come together as often as possible. We discuss the week, plan the day and sometimes laugh at ourselves.
    I for example don't eat breakfast myself, but I always have a hot chocolate or fresh orange juice in the morning. I can promise you one thing, nobody has left us hungry yet!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like to travel around on your days of, I can give you a ride for some day trips in denmark or germany. Due to my job as a horse trainer and osteopath, I travel a lot and drive to a wide variety of places. Or if you like to stay in the area, here you can find very nice Mountain bike parks, the Baltic sea is only 4km away and to the north sea it is about 40km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You could use your own room as a office as well or if you need more space my living room is at your disposal. Our WiFi is very good but do not reach every room in the house because the walls are too thick. On the other hand you do not here anything if you close the door. In my living room the internet is just perfect.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If we have one thing, than it is lots of space! We have 2 parking places with electricity for motorhome just next to the sea with a beautiful view.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A pet you have under control and which is staying with you is not a problem, as long as it is friendly to human and animal. Since we have already 5 dogs ( male and female) at our place who are running free, your pet needs to be okay with that. If you like to bring your own horse, this would be no problem at all.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 971363736589