Help at an Homestay in Artistic Studio near the Beach with Views of Mt. Fuji, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 838 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Japanese family who decided 30 years ago to live a different life style. We quit Tokyo and its fast paced environment for a charming sleepy city 1 hour away in the south of Tokyo’s suburb and 30 minutes from Hakone.

    Oiso is a city nestled between mountains, rice paddies and the ocean with majestic Mount Fuji overlooking the scenery. Here, waves, nature, culture, hiking course, traditional hot springs all offer diverse activities and opportunities. Off the beaten track and away from the overcrowded touristy places we live in a place where local people are friendly to travellers. In our big house designed like a boat by Masami - the captain and father of the family - you will have a room in our artistic house where pieces of art are scattered everywhere. We both had an artistic career, Masami was an interior designer and Ikuko worked for a company who promote music. We now have various different projects going on: facilitating some local arts events, local festivals, hosting photo and filming shoots in the house… It depends on the the season.

    We always enjoy a traditional dinner, playing music from Okinawa, conversation, sharing secret recipies or practicing calligraphy. We guess we are a unique family that dares ourselves to follow our dreams even though it doesn’t always fit the more conformative Japanese mould.

    We are more than happy to share with you the medley of our quirky experiences and our ancestral Japanese culture. We have 3 sons (17yo, 20yo and 22yo) living with us, travelling or studying abroad. Two turtles, one goat and a dog are also part of the family.

    Please come to visit us in Oiso to enjoy family life in a quiet area with easy access to famous Japanese sightseeing spots.

    We offer a small wage depending on the local labour rate.


    The owner's concept is that people create culture.
    We believe that personal encounters with you will shape our destiny.

    We want to make an environment where your uniqueness can flourish.

    Your experience here will change your life.
    Connecting people in the world will lead to a better future!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living with a Japanese family and we can help teach you about Japanese culture and help you with the Japanese language.
    We also cook traditional Japanese food and can teach you how to make it too.

    There are many cultural activities to do nearby, including Japanese calligraphy, judo, karate, shrines etc.
    Oiso is also full of traditional Japanese architecture and history.

    Oiso is very well-located, and a great base from which to explore the rest of Japan. Tokyo, Yokohama, Kamakura, Hakone are all easy to get to by train.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help from a carpenter, ideally with skills in traditional Japanese building methods.

    We are looking for a web developer to help build a booking system for our personalised tour/retreat (we want to make a flexible and simple booking system so customers can choose from a variety of activities and so everything is as automated as possible).

    Other than that we need general helpers for chores, cleaning, house maintenance, translation and driving (if you want to drive you must have an international drivers permit). We have a dog and two turtles and they need feeding and taking care of.

    We are preparing for accommodation rooms and meals.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please note that travel (i.e. driving to the campsite) and daily chores do not count towards the working hours i.e. walking the dog, laying the table for breakfast, giving the turtles their baths. Travel is maximum 45 minutes if we're going to renovate the other apartment and daily chores are about 30-45 minutes total*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will depend on when you arrive, but we assure you it will be comfortable.

    And lastly we have a camping van at a plot of land nearby.

    In all cases you will share a bathroom and shower.

    All meals will be provided during work days.
    Please bring money to buy food on days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week





















Host ref number: 969852491992