Come & help us prepare for the season, stay in a Yurt, and explore Ogliastra, Sardinia, Italy. (Spring 2020)

Country

Italy

new host  

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Alex & Billy and we moved from the UK to Sardinia in 2009. We are both Reiki Masters, Alex teaches Yoga and Mindfulness Meditation and Billy is an Aromatherpist and Massage Therapist.

    We live in the countryside near to Jerzu (the city of wine) in Ogliastra on the eastern coast of Sardinia. We live with our two labradors surrounded by vineyards. In the local area are plenty of opportunities to sight-see and enjoy the outdoor life, including hiking, climbing, cycling, mountain biking, kayaking and boat trips. We live near mountains and lots of beaches as well as caves, waterfalls, natural pools and historical sites. We opened our glamping holiday accommodation in yurts in 2019.

    In Sardinia we experience lots of sunny days. It rarely rains, but it can rain quite hard when it does. In winter it can get a little cold and there is sometimes snow on the mountains from January to March. There can also be strong winds. You should be able bodied and able to do general gardening for about 3-4 hours a day and without any back injuries, you should enjoy working outside, being around nature, not afraid of insects or dogs and not mind a simple lifestyle.

    We would like to offer free accommodation only (no food although you can pick some veg, fruit and herbs from the garden), in return for 3-4 hours work per day for 5 days per week, we are also willing to be flexible with hours, so for example if you wanted to organise a day out you could work the extra hours out through the rest of the week.

    We will also be happy to welcome a family or people with well behaved pets.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Immersion in Sardinian culture, italian language and discover some history of the ancient Nuraghic civilization.
    Lots of outdoor activities, hikes, etc.
    We can also offer Reiki Introduction, Yoga and/or meditation classes and massages on request.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for able-bodied people to come and help us prepare for the season with a few hours work per day doing general gardening work such as tree and shrub pruning, weeding, planting, etc
    General cleaning-up of the grounds and barn storage areas (we have no farm animals)
    General maintenance which may include some painting on site.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Yurt accommodation, space for 4 people sharing (one double bed and two singles) in the yurt, or a couple or a small group of friends sharing the space.
    Includes bedding and towels.
    Shared outdoor bathroom facilities with one other yurt.
    Hot tub.
    Communal Kitchen area and BBQ.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you can explore the local area, visit the beaches, walk the mountains, go climbing or take a mountain bike or kayak tour. Or benefit from a Yoga and/or Meditation class, Reiki Intro or massage with us.

    Internet is only available near the main house
    This is a fire risk are so we do not permit smoking or open fires
    We live in the countryside so the nearest shops are 8km away
    We would recommend car hire.
    There are local buses with the nearest bus stop about 1-2km away
    There are local suppliers for bike hire.
    Please bring with you:
    - shoes with good soles
    - mosquito repellent
    - sun screen and sun hat
    - bathing costume for the hot tub
    - only ecological washing products (shampoo, toothpaste, etc)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 967826247581