Organic farming, food forest and DIY building in Figueiró da Serra, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The wild, tranquil and peaceful environment somehow has gripped me since I came to Figueiró in 2018 for the first time. I came back a few times until I decided to stay in 2020, get a piece of land and plant trees, grow vegetables and enjoy the beauty of this hidden valley.

    Before, I lived and worked as a freelance photographer in Berlin, Germany. Within the last few years I became more and more interested in permaculture, food forests, reforestation and offgrid living. I've gained knowledge through workshops, internships and volunteering but also a lot through reading and simply by doing.

    So far we've set up a vegetable garden with more than 40 different crops and planted more than 50 fruit trees. We have created ponds and irrigation systems to diversify eco systems and to create habitats for wild species.

    Until the old stone ruin on my land is rebuild, I live in my caravan on the property of my friend and neighbor Roman. He, Luisa and I share a lot of time, work, meals, tools and ideas.

    Recently we have set up a non profit organization and work on cultural and ecological projects to maintain not just our own land, but also to contribute to the area we live in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in good contact with our neighbours who also run eco and community projects. So you can connect with other volunteers or locals in the village.

  • Help

    Help

    We value honesty and reliability, flexibility and openness. Tasks can be chosen according to mental or physical ability and working hours are negotiable but at least 3-4 hours a day/5 days a week should be invested. We mainly work on the vegetable field or in the food forest, building wooden structures, planting trees and shrubs, chopping firewood or fixing whatever has to be fixed. As my land was abandoned for many years, a lot of work is clearing and cutting of predominant pioneer plants, making space for new species and more diversity.

    Besides work, it's of course nice but no must to share some free time in the evenings, cook and eat together.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own 13 sqm waterproof Tipi-tent with a lot of privacy, a beautiful view into the valley, a shared compost toilet, a mattress with blankets and some basic equipment to cook a meal. A warm shower can be taken occasionally at my friend's place or a bath in chilly water in the nearby lake, just 10 walking minutes away from here (like I do).

    Everthing else you need can be taken care of. At least one warm meal will be provided, as well as coffee, tea and drinking water. Fresh vegetables can be bought at the permaculture farm next door or picked in our garden, depending on the quantities. Other supplies can be bought at the mini mercado in our village or on a shopping tour to the next town.

    Internet and electricity can also be used occasionally but are not available at the tent. In general it's a very basic accomodation without any comfort but sorrounded by beautiful mountains with many birds, lizards and bees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many great hiking trails, mountains, wild rivers, lakes, medieval villages literally in front of the door. It's also possible to do day trips by car together and to explore other parts of the beautiful Serra da Estrela.

    This place is also great for foraging and collecting wild herbs, flowers and mushrooms depending in the season.

    The nearby village has a small supermarket and a cafe/bar, where some locals meet every day. Some good restaurants in the area can be reached by car within 20 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Needs to be discussed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche


Host ref number: 967681834693