1 / 2

Join me and help develop an ecological project in Biliran, Philippines

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone, my name is John I am Filipino, 34 years old, I was born in Cebu, then I grew up in Maripipi, an incredible island next to Sambawan.

    I lived with my wife Rica, and other locals, there are 7 of us, but we regularly have visits from other locals from neighboring islands, or fishermen.

    Growing up in the Filipino culture I love singing, and sharing meals with my family and friends. But I also spend a lot of my free time in the water, in fact, I enjoy snorkeling, free diving, boating, fishing, hiking, bushcraft, and learning survival skills.
    I would be happy to share my skills and teach you.
    On this island, I like to practice these different activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Firstly, the Filipino culture is very warm and welcoming. So the inhabitants of this island will love to introduce you to our recipes and our evenings.
    As for me, I could take the volunteers by boat to the neighboring islands, but also go diving, fishing and share my knowledge on the types of fish or vegetation.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    This island is very preserved, I live here all year round, and I would like to keep its natural conservation. Therefore, I would like to be able to create an ecological project, have a clean island, without waste, recycle while developing comfort, to receive visitors in order to promote this island.
    From then on, the volunteers would help me ecologically, to make arrangements, construction, in the continuity of things, receive volunteers who would help me promote the potential of this island, through a website, video editing, and social networks, that would be great.
    Everyone is welcome here, as long as you are motivated to help us, but your ideas are also welcome!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Cebuano: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I want to learn about everything, all nationalities are welcome.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have bamboo huts. They are all closed and waterproof. They are equipped with a bed and pillow, a sink and a balcony.
    The showers are shared and we had real toilets.
    But, I also have tents available, or if you have them you can obviously pitch them in the sand, or a hammock for total immersion.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The volunteers will be in paradise during their free time, the seabed is incredible to explore (fish, corals, turtles, rays, sharks...)
    I have masks and snorkels available for you.
    Otherwise, hiking, but I could also take you fishing, and discover the neighboring islands.
    We are 10-15 minutes from the island of Maripipi, which benefits from shops, markets, but also beaches or even immersion in the jungle.
    You can come here, passing through the island of Biliran, from Naval, the closest airports are Cebu and Tacloban.
    Here we don't have wifi, but we receive the network very well, there are no connection problems, you can work on your computer, and a work space, with your feet in the sand.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have cats and dog. I'm also an animal lover

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 967663274612

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help at an animal rescue shelter in Cebu, Philippines
Help us on our permaculture homestead in Siquijor, Philippines