Experience the French Alps and practice languages, ski, biking in Boëge, France

  • Favourited 184 times
  • Last activity: 25 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We have had many great experiences with workawayers since 2022. We see it as a cultural exchange, a learning opportunity for all involved, and a great way to get help with our home tasks.

    Our family of four lives in the French Alps, very close to the Swiss Border. Our small town is about 20 minutes away from a larger city (Annemasse, Geneva). We feel that we can be close to lots of people whenever we want but that we are also safely hidden in the country!

    We look for people who can sort out their own visa issues and who can reach our home independently. Unfortunately, we do not have the means to help you figure out what tickets to buy, what connections to make etc.

    We are non-smokers and we require that our guests be non-smokers. We enjoy eating animal protein 2-3 times a week. We don't mind if you're vegetarian. We have no food allergies. Our house is free from TVs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Live in a rich French village in the Alps near the border with Switzerland. Lots of ski stations around! Not far from Geneva, Switzerland.
    Ou region is VERY beautiful. It's called Vallée Verte. LOTS of great places to walk and enjoy nature. Our town has many great amenities at walk distance: library, cafés, supermarket etc. There's a great cinema 5 km from our home. There's a bus line (twice a day) going to Annemmasse with connections to Geneva. Some social activities around although very different from a city. We buy eggs from one villager and vegetables from another. Sometimes we also buy meat from another villager. People here are lovely and very welcoming toward foreigners (I am a foreigner).
    We require guests who are independent: can go around on their own, can make their own arrangements for whatever they need to do, can cook their own food (if they wish to eat differently than us).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need a young person who can help with kids for 3h/day and small house tasks. Our Girl is 5 years old and our Boy is 9 (he is very independent and smart). Our Girl requires normal care for 5 year old. She has no special condition. Both speak French and Portuguese. No general house cleaning necessary. On Wednesdays, we need 5h help with kids. Weekends free. We are flexible about the schedule, depending on your plans and needs. Food provided, bikes available. You are not required to cook as you can share our meals, but you are welcome to cook if you wish. You need to take care of your laundry (washing machine and drier available). You need to clean up the kitchen every time you use it and leave the way you found it.
    In some situations, we might ask you to replace help with kids for help with general maintenance home tasks (isolation, fixing small things etc).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in Russian, Italian dialects (Napoletano, Veneto, Pugliese) and in Latin languages such as Provençal, Catalán, Gallego and others.

  • Accommodation


    We love in an average-sized triplex apartment (about 135 m2) and there is an individual room for our guest. This room is usually one of our offices which we turn into a guest room when there are visitors. The room is big and has a great view. It's on the middle floor and next to the children's room. The kitchen is downstairs and it can be noisy in the mornings as we start our day around 7 AM. Our house has an individual outside space (garden). We do not own a TV. Our neighbourhood is very quiet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Routine: start day around 6:40 AM. Kids go to school 8:00. Mélanie may work from home or go to school (she's a teacher). I work from home all the time, so I am at my office at home the full day. At 4:30 or 5:30 kids are back. Starting at 5:30, kids need to get inside for shower and homework. We need to dine at 7:30 and kids need to be in bed at 8 PM. We need your help especially from 4:30 to 7:30.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The guest room can fit a person working from home outside of the time when we need help with the kids. Our internet connection does not fully support two people working from home (I work from home all day) but we can make quick arrangements for that and we can guarantee good internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's plenty of parking space around here!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 964925744723

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)