Help with horse care in Ontario, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 257 times
  • Last activity: 29 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Our Farm is a equine breeding and training facility north of Toronto. We raise Welsh ponies for riding and driving. We have a riding school and train horses to carriage drive and ride. We compete at many riding competitions and carriage driving competitions. We compete on Ontario hunter + jumper circuit as well as at breed shows. We generally have 2-4 foals a year. My daughter, Kilby, is 18 years old and attends French immersion school. She enjoys the horses very much and spend much of her time in the barn riding. A wage will be provided to those with knowledge in training horses in jumpers, dressage or carriage driving of $490 for every week worked of 30 hours. This is minimum wage for Ontario.

    Look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help


    Help with daily care of ponies and stable chores. Training young ponies, dressage, jumping and driving of older ponies.

    Prefer workaways to stay a minimum of 1 month.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Live with the family in the house, own room, shower and internet. 3 meals a day provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Knowledge of riding and/or carriage driving , able to ride ponies (under 60 kg), an asset but not required.

    Females only and no couples sorry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    30 hours maximum

Host ref number: 964764335334

Feedback (6)


Join our young family and live near the forest of Madeira Park, Canada
Practice Spanish with my daughter and help around the house (Québec), Canada