Discover rural life by helping a single Mom and her family in Istria, Croatia

  • Favourited 420 times
  • Last activity: 5 Mar 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to the magical peninsula of Istria! I live in a safe, peaceful village surrounded by forest, 20 minutes drive away from Poreč and its beautiful Adriatic sea.

    We are a single Mum, an 8-year-old boy and a small dog. He goes to school and I work for myself and in a small company as a content marketer. My parents stay in the other part of the house and my sister occasionally visits us with her kids and a dog. There's also some chickens and a garden.

    Having you here is our way to travel, learn and have fun. It is an incredible experience to see my son learning a new skill from you. Or when he makes a good laugh with a new friend from the other side of the world.

    Our tasks and life changes every season:), but at this stage, we welcome honest volunteers who know how to organise and perform small tasks around the house and house, like changing floors or moving smaller pieces of furniture. I prefer video interview on Zoom or Skype beforehand.

    However, it is essential that you're curious about children, that you love spending time with them. But we can arrange something, maybe even another accommodation, if you're not fond of kids, but have amazing renovation skills.

    If you need a short break from tourist stuff, can offer help with your skills and traveling and want to see how do locals in Istria live, write in!

    It is best to write up maximum one month in advance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm an ex journalist and I hitch-hiked, surfed and traveled around Europe, India and SE Asia. I actually lived in India for 1.5 years and I learned about yoga, digital marketing which I do for living today, but mostly, I learned from my son and nieces.

    Even though it doesn't seem so if you're not used to it, our kid, any kid you spend time with, is the biggest teacher and energy booster one can meet.

    SIGHTSEEING: When you're free, you can go to Porec in the morning with me, to go the town for coffee or sight seeing.

    I do go hiking, see friends or to some events occasionally and sometimes you can come with us.

    I am an ex journalist so people and events are my life even a lot of them evolve around children these days.

    You can also use my bicycle to explore.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Winters are slow, but all the exciting work happens before the egg gets hatched:). It's hard to have a proper schedule, but I'll do my best. The village people, and my family are rather used to spontaneous arrangements and there's not much I can do about it even though I tried:D, it's like in Africa or Greek islands.

    It would be work related to small house maintenance jobs, painting, helping my father in renovation of the old house,
    e.g., putting new floors, moving lighter stuff, putting paintings on the wall.

    It can also be arranging garden areas, choping some wood, painting the wooden house...

    Other things we highly appreciate.
    - Talking, joking, playing with my son- anything that puts my son away from technology:)
    - Turning my English into level "incredible" if you're a native speaker (point out on my writing and speaking mistakes)
    - Teaching us Italian (I learned it for 4 years)
    - Refurbishing the old furniture if that's your thing
    - Play music if you know how
    - Something else we need help with at that particular moment
    - Something specific you need help with.

    As we won't be here during the day, we can have light dinner together and prepare lunch in advance.
    Helping with the dishes or food preparation for me is a normal part of daily routines so we don't count that as a workaway hours - but, you're free to eat what I have or my parents prepare.
    You're also free to cook, maximum two times in a week. Of course, if you know how or if you want to learn, it is more than appreciated.

    We eat a lot of seasonal food, traditional Istrian food based on healthy carbs and not so much meat which means whatever we can find in the garden and much less processed food from the store.

    There's space for privacy, but it's, more or less, a shared living arrangement so we'll try to respect WA recommendations about work hours and time alone.

    We had more than 50 volunteers/couchsurfers and I learned an honest open communication from the start is the key:).
    Please, if you have any issues that you think might disturb an 8-year-old boy, let me know in advance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will welcome you in our warm, ground floor (direct access to a big sunny terrace with a garden) apartment.

    Since we don't have a spare bedroom, just a spare garage that can be used for exercise or time alone, it is for short stay only, around one week.

    Workawayers sleep on the couch in a living room/dining room - it's definitely more comfortable than my bed and it can be turned into bed, but I prefer sleeping on it when it's not.

    We have a dog inside of the house at all times. In case you're allergic, unfortunately, it is not the place to be.

    Because of the dog and lack of time for cleaning, OCD people might have a hard time adjusting to our space. But I love clean home and we can clean together, it helps for my motivation:D.

    You can smoke in the garden.

    Other areas of the house include large terrace with a table and chairs, kitchen, hall and a toilet with a shower. Lots of yard and parking places, forest nearby for morning walks, trails or picking herbs.

    You'd be someone who stays here as part of the family with respect to some privacy (e.g., we might go upstairs to give you a free night. And it is more than welcomed that you spend some afternoons/ evenings out of our home for sanity:).
    During the week, both my son and I might be away during the mornings and afternoons.

    As mentioned before, it is a shared living arrangement until we turn the garage into a room, and we're looking forward to it with respect to the mentioned above.

    Thank you for reading this and, please, don't hesitate to ask if you have any more questions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is quite urban (people jump into the cars and do stuff in a 5 minute away village with a shop or 20 minute away beach town that has everything you need). But it is settled in a beautiful nature with loads of forest trails. Nearest shop, the coffee bar, doctor, pharmacy... is 4 kilometres away. It is all very close to beautiful Motovun (8 km), the medieval town you definitely must see in Istria. Groznjan, Oprtalj are also not so far (app 20 km). The nearest swimming beach is 17 kilometres away, wild, nudist, touristic.. whichever you prefer. Obviously, it is less attractive during wintertime, but I swimm in the sea during cold months, as well as many people:). The water goes down to 16-13 degrees and more.
    If you've read all the profile, please put: gentle love as a keyword in the message you write. Now, let's continue:).

    Public transportation doesn't exist, but from Poreč, there are buses to other towns like Pula, Rovinj, Rijeka, Pazin.

    Poreč, Rovinj, Novigrad, all the Istrian cities except Pula and Labin, are on 20 to 40 minutes drive away.


    You can also hitchhike or use my bycicle (it's a bit hilly), I did it a lot as a youngster.
    It is not easy sometimes but it can be totally fine and exciting:).

    Airports Pula and Trieste are less than 100 km away.

    When you come for the first time, I'll come to pick you up: Višnjan or Poreč are the good pickup points for the first time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I don't have a great internet but while I work, you can also do part of your digital work. Not ideal for people who work 6+ hours a day in privacy.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of yard. Some of it it's near the road. We had campervan travelers before and it was great. We don't have any camper facility - e.g. outdoor toilet and electricity. It's very important that you take your litter at paid places, not to the nature.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 h a week with extra time for food and cleaning, depending on the day

Host ref number: 964256879516

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback








Join our family and help us at home in Split, Croatia
Permaculture retreat with good organic food on our self sufficient family homestead in Vojnic, Croatia