Help our family in our garden just outside of Eugene, Oregon, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three with considerable experience traveling internationally and hosting international guests. My husband teaches computer programming at a community college, I am a writer/editor, and our daughter is a middle schooler who loves acting, dancing, and animals.

    We all love books and reading. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest, an hour and a half from both the mountains in one direction and the ocean in the other. We are starting a market garden and would benefit from the assistance of someone who is willing both to cook meals and to help in the yard and garden. We live in a newly built home on two acres, steps away from the Willamette River and hundreds of acres of wilderness and recreational area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have cultivated friendships with representatives of other countries in our community, including individuals working and studying at the University of Oregon and Lane Community College. Hospitality and community involvement are important to us, so we can introduce you to a variety of individuals, activities, and experiences. Having lived internationally ourselves, we are familiar with the challenges and rewards of the undertaking. We look forward to interacting with and learning from our guests.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for someone who can help with cooking and gardening, freeing me up to spend more time writing and editing. We also have some landscaping and small building projects--chicken coop maintenance, pigeon house construction, deck staining.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tajik: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Persian (Farsi): Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom and a shared bathroom in our home. We try to eat healthy, natural meals but don't adhere to a strict diet. (We love ice cream!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Eugene/Springfield has a lot of natural areas for hiking, both in town and nearby. Its popularity with runners has earned it the nickname of Track Town. Summer is a prime time for arts activities, including the Bach Festival, Art & the Vineyard over Fourth of July Weekend, and numerous music and theater events, many of them free.

    We live in a bike-friendly city with reasonably good public transportation. Our current home is a few blocks away from an express bus line; the new house is five miles from it, but Uber is available.

    I enjoy hosting and engaging with guests but also need time to myself to write and acknowledge my introvert tendencies. We ask that guests respect our family's conservative values and maintain an environment free of alcohol, smoking, and drugs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 961487736864