Help recycle glass bottles while living on a farm Kiambu, Nairobi, Kenya

Country

Kenya

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/04/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    628

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone! I am Mondo, currently working a student at USIU-Africa Nairobi, Kenya. I enjoy traveling to many countries and exploring new places. Currently, I am working on developing a startup on my own which deals with glass recycling and intend to turn it into a sustainable social enterprise. Since I have to go to school, and coordinate several things on a day to day basis which demands most of my time, I am looking for volunteers who can contribute their skills in whatever they are good at. Even a little help matters.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very open minded person, friendly and helping by nature. I am also a person like you who likes to meet new people, share and contribute, explore places and learn from others. I am also a food blogger and enjoy spending time in the kitchen trying out and learning new recipes. I can teach you how to cook Kenyan food and you can teach me how to cook your traditional food.

    You will definitely get to experience Kenya from a local perspective, learn the language, culture and ways of life, make new friends, go on an adventure and learn the ups and downs of starting a business in Kenya while learning about recycling and helping make a positive impact on the environment.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks will generally depend on the skills of the volunteer. There is really no specific skill set required and just need someone who is passionate about recycling and willing to help.

    There is no strict criteria and I will generally require someone whose hands on and enjoys making things.
    A rough idea of things I will need help with: planning and coordination of glass bottle collection, cleaning and crushing, innovation and design of recycled glass products, marketing as well as someone who enjoys photography, video, web/graphic/interior design. Just keep in mind that this is a startup and there allot of small odd tasks that could be done.

    You can manage your flexible hours in a day, and highly appreciate if you could help me to keep the apartment clean and help me with cooking and general maintenance and finish some simple DIY projects which i haven't gotten round to doing like painting and making some furniture.

    I am very open minded an flexible and I will try find place for every kind of skill that you have cause I am keen to learn new things as well.

    P.s I live on a farm and we have cows, chicken and grow some vegetables. You could help with that as well if you wish depending on what you prefer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swahili & Kikuyu

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a three bed room apartment and can give one of the rooms to the volunteers to stay. I can host 2 or more volunteers but this varies from time to time. My home is in a small town called Karura, 22m from Nairobi central business district on Gitaru road. I will organize to have the volunteer picked and dropped at the airport but at their own cost.

    Usually a the volunteer will get a separate room for themselves but might have to share if there are more volunteers. There is also a living room and bathroom in the apartment which well share.
    I really want everyone to have a great stay and memorable experience. .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For the rest of your time, you can explore nearby places. You can go walking, running, biking, swimming, go to the local market and small towns nearby, you can even help out on the farm if you fancy. I am just beginning to approach volunteers, so you might be the first one.

    Kenya has a number of tourist attractions that you can visit, from cultural centers to historical sites, game park visits, bird watching among many others. I have a car, an can drive you around when I'm free you just have to chip in the fuel cost. but public transport is also easily accessible.

    I shall spare time off to take the volunteer to popular places around Nairobi and I'm sure you shall truly enjoy your experience!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A view of the neighbourhood from my rooftop.
Home.
Collecting bottles.
Collecting bottles.
Sorting bottles.
Bottle Washing!

Host ref number: 957599522632