A school owner with a school in Kwale, Kenya

  • Kenya
  • Favourited 23 times
  • Last activity: 28 Mar 2023




  • Description


    My name is Caroline.Am a teacher.A person who has a big heart for young children to start school at the expected age.Unfortunately ,in my neighbourhood most children start school at a late age.I started a school to enable these children come to school at a place they will enjoy a quiet environment.It is situated along the Mombasa Nairobi Highway
    It is a young sschoool.We would like to invite voluteeers to help impact gardening skills ,language skills ,music skills ,poetry.Most of these schoolkids are between 4and 11years skills that would fit their agewould be appreciated.During the weekends the visitors can visit the coastal beaches and also the tsavo West national parks which are a distance from Taru where we are located.This will be at the visitors cost.We also have maasai community who welcome visitors with their rich culture at a cost incurred by the visitors.
    As a host an providing a self-contained spacious room for the visitors.

    We have plenty of water for bathing and doing some laundry.Incase the volunteer wants washing done for them we have a lady who will wash for our visitors at a small fee which will be agreed on arrival.
    In Taru we experience hot weather during the day at times we have cold nights.In most cases the sky is full of beauty with its stars.This can be a good experience to see the stars at night.The neighbourhood where the young school is situated is welcoming.If the visitors wish to visit our children during the were the host will always organise.As a host should know we respect the visitors privancy.Incase they want to smoke ,take alcohol they should know we are not against their wishes.
    They environment we live in is safe .Incase the visitors want to visit places we can always call a Taxi which will offer travel services at a few incurred by our visitors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Taru has a rich culture from different ethnic groups.The visitors can visit the maasai who are not far from the school.We have tsavo West national park that is not very far about 30kms.we have a wide range of animals fromthegirraffes,elephants and zebras just to mention but a few animals which are very exciting to see.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need to be helped with computers/internet.The place our children are coming from they are not exposed to the use of the internet and also the computers.Any kind of help will be very appreciated.
    We will also appreciate any art project as this will sharp the skill of art in our children.
    Language practice will be very much appreciated.Most of our kinds are conversant with their mothertongues which is their first language.They also learn Swahili from home.English is their third language which is very difficult for them at their early years.
    Being a school teaching various topics according to our curriculum guidelines will be highly appreciated.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I like learning languages from other places.Am confident in teaching Swahili a Kenyan local language.

  • Accommodation


    We have a self-contained room incase of a couple.Singles have a room for their own but share the washroom.We provide matresses and beddings.
    Visitors are free to give us the menu of what to be cooked for .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The helpers pay for a Taxi and visit the tsavo natonalpark.They also public means of transport and visit places of interest around the coast and even other parts of Kenya at large.They will be free to walk to Taru market when they wish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I will welcome a digital nomard and have access to internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a spacious parking compound and we have a security officer in our compound.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I can't limit the type of pets my workaways.I can accommodate all pets and also enjoy being with animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food given

Host ref number: 832447947411



Volunteer help needed on a sustainable Permaculture and Organic Farm, Homabay, Kenya
We'd like to welcome a story teller, film-maker and writer in Nairobi, Kenya