Help us at our small farm in the countryside of Lower Normandy, France

Country

France

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're Karen & Bert, currently living in Belgium and London but moving to France next spring.
    Our place is located in the countryside of Lower Normandy close to Falaise.
    There's about 5 hectares of land, mostly pasture but there's also a large vegetable garden and lots of fruit and nut trees everywhere.
    We love animals and our family includes cats, dogs, horses, chickens, sheep and a baby goat…
    We both love traveling and meeting new people but because we have so many animals we don't get to travel very often.
    Over the next few years we will be renovating some of the barns and convert them into independent guesthouses.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Normandy is absolutely beautiful + you get to meet all the animals! :)

  • Help

    Help

    We can always use help in the garden such as cutting the grass (we have a ride-on mower), maintaining the vegetable garden, picking fruits… Yes, you can make jam if you want to! ;)
    Help with the animals such as feeding and cleaning out the stables, they all love attention!
    If horse poo isn't for you but if you're a bit handy... we can also use help repairing the fencing or building a new chicken coop or some garden furniture.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small guestroom in the house and a caravan in the garden.
    Bert and I became vegan a few years ago so all the meals will be vegan, if you have any food allergies just let us know in advance.
    PS: vegan does not equal boring or tasteless ;) we promise!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of nature, sightseeing, museums, war monuments…
    There's no public transportation nearby but I can always give you a ride to any of the nearby villages.
    Nearest trainstation: Argentan 20km (you can take the train to Paris, it's only 1h50min)
    Nearest airport: Caen 50 km
    Nearest city: Falaise 10 km
    The lake of Rabodanges is less than 4 km away!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 955814811918