Come and help out around the house and enjoy beautiful London Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nestled beside the Sifton Bog in London Ontario, our location features a vernal pond, lots of deer in the yard, rare birds and plants with hours of wooded hiking trails. We are also walking distance to Starbucks, gourmet shopping etc. I am a senior but very active.

    I take care of Adam a 36 year old developmentally delayed but very loving gentleman who gets along with others well and is fun to be around.

    We also have an 3 year old dog who loves attention but mostly just sleeps! . We like to eat well, take a cooking class each Thursday, a concert on Friday but mostly enjoy learning about other cultures.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    London has great bike trails along the river. State of the art live Theatre as well as a large music and art scene. Festivals and fun events all year long.

    There is lots of recreational activities in this University town. Great Theatre, large parks. We have a canoe available with a wheeled carrier close to the Thames River ( 5 min walk). There are two shopping areas within walking distance with most amenities. Boler Mountain the southern most ski hill in Canada is a few minutes away by car. Use of a bike and/or skis comes with the room as well as all meals. There is also a covered 4 season gas Barbeque.

  • Help

    Help

    Our 70 yr old and much beloved tree died in the front yard which we hope to honour by making into live edge counter tops for the kitchen and bathroom. The planks have cured for 4 years and are ready to go. We need the help of an expert with this project as well as yard work for Spring..

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bright Sunny private room with brass queen bed, computer with desk and leather easy chair. The single family home is a 3 bedroom side split with four levels of finished space including a glass sunroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Stratford Festival is 40 minutes away by car. There are hours of great cross country ski trails right out the back door!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 952324553389