Help with maintenance at a farm to a fun loving family in Tolaga Bay, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a fun loving family of 5 who live in a beautiful remote part of New Zealand. We love meeting new people and having volunteers to stay. Come and meet our energetic children aged 5,3 & 1. Our three dogs, Burmese cat, our mad pet goat Alfie, baby kid Billy and 8 chickens. There is plenty to do and see in our beautiful region including surfing, feeding stingray, and fishing just to name a few. We live in an old farm house and we need a hand with the up keep of it restoring it to its former beauty as well as a bit of help in the garden. I love to cook especially for others and you will be well fed and rewarded for your efforts!! We look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    The help required is in the large country garden. Mainly pruning, tidying planting and weeding and the vegetable garden.
    We may require some spreading of metal on the drive way, and help with pruning larger branches.
    Some maintenance may be required on the farm sheds. But you would not need to be a qualified builder, just handy !! fencing repairs are also on the cards.
    The homestead is over 100 years old and up keep is ongoing. If the weather is too wet to be outdoors, we may need some help with sanding and painting inside the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cottage separate from the main house that has two single beds and one double bed. The cottage also has a kitchen, living room and bathroom with a shower and bath.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours weekdays (5 days a week)








Host ref number: 926784527238