Stay in the North East of Germany and help me with my garden

Country

Germany

Favourited 201 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Ute and I live with two lovely cats in north-eastern Germany. As a potter, I have been running my own workshop for many years and produce a wide range of wood-fired, salt-glazed stoneware, drawing inspiration from German tradition, influenced by various European contemporary ceramics and perpetually enchanted by the old Korean style of pottery.

    My workshop, sales room and gallery lie secluded amidst the meadows, forests and little lakes of this beautiful countryside and are part of the old, converted farmstead that is my home. The house itself, my business and the large garden ensure that there is always a lot of work to be done; often more than I can manage in the time available. On top of all this, I am passionate about Tango Argentino and eager to pursue this interest.

    I have travelled the world, but am now settled into a rural lifestyle that is occasionally punctuated by Tango events as far away as Berlin. Participating in pottery markets, exhibitions and events also adds liveliness to my days. A large circle of friends, some of them also potters and ceramicists, keep life in the sticks from becoming monotonous.

    I eat mainly fresh food, much of it from my own garden, and although I am not strictly vegetarian, I eat very little meat and have no meal in the evenings. None of this need affect you, however. You could prepare your own meals, or we can cook together. In the summer months, I like to cook outside in my summer kitchen.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I am mainly looking for competent help with the garden, such as weeding, harvesting and cutting the grass. Chopping wood for the oven or the kiln and little chores around the house are also helpful. Sometimes I have a stall at pottery markets and need someone to look after the house and gallery. If you are computer-savvy, I might benefit from specific knowledge in that area when the need arises.

    If you are interested in pottery or able to dance the Tango, like cats and gardening and helping out wherever needed, I should be pleased to hear from you. Please note that I cannot have volunteers in the pottery and that you would not be able to have a go yourself, though you may watch and I am always happy to tell you about the craft and its history.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, some English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A part of the loft of my old farmhouse has been newly converted into a room for guests and volunteers. You can choose between a double futon on the floor and mattresses in an open gallery. An en-suite bathroom with sink and toilet is for your own use, whereas bath and shower are shared. There is internet access, but not enough broadband to watch films, and I have no television either. If you are smoker, it is important that you only smoke outside. Should you prefer to pitch a tent or arrive in a caravan, there is room for that too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is very quiet here, but that might suit someone in search of a peaceful place to think, read, write, swim and hike. The old town of Schwerin with its Redbrick Gothic cathedral and imposing castle is within reach and worth a visit. There is a bus twice a day but I could take you there by car, as well as to certain other locations; or you can explore the area by bicycle. There are no bars, pubs, shops or cinemas, but I have found that people who come here are content to remain on site, participate in whatever is going on and pursue their own studies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5





Host ref number: 951864787834